Freecom DVB-T USB stick

EllisIsland

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
35
Reaction score
0
I have just purchased a freecom DVB-T USB stick and once "tuned" , the EPG shows the discovery channel. My problem is that I cannot get this (and other channels) to display. Are these encrypted channels and if so how do I pay to get them. I am a total newbie to Freeview and appologise in advance, if I am simply being stupid.

Any help would be much appreciated.
 

hamba

Elite Member
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
8,704
Reaction score
1,344
Location
Down Here
Discovery is part of the top-up tv package. You have to have a card (and a box that will accept it) and it costs £7.99 a month.


check out: topuptv.com
 

EllisIsland

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
35
Reaction score
0
Thanks Mate, I guess that I would require a completely differnt DV box to recieve top up TV.
 
S

Swanseasong

Guest
Considering the card would be bigger than the USB stick... yeh... I guess so!
 

Nick [D]vB

Member ++
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
151
Reaction score
4
Not necessarily, you could use a separate USB smartcard reader, but your Freecom stick must have BDA compatible drivers for this to work.
 

EllisIsland

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
35
Reaction score
0
"Not necessarily, you could use a separate USB smartcard reader, but your Freecom stick must have BDA compatible drivers for this to work."

This sounds interesting can you please give me more detail.
 

Nick [D]vB

Member ++
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
151
Reaction score
4
You can't do this with the freecom software that comes with the device; you need to use a third party program that supports CAM emulation plug-ins. All the software is free but to use it your Freecom stick either needs native driver support [which it hasn't got] or BDA drivers.

Unfortunately Freecom don't have their own BDA drivers, *but* their device is actually a clone, using the same tuner and chipset, as some other TV stick devices on the market. If you are *very* lucky you will be able to use other vendors BDA drivers with your device.

They might be quite complicated to get working because some of the files might need patching, but it's your only hope for TopUp on that device. Let me know if you need a hand, Good luck! Now don't say I never do anything for you....

8)
 
Last edited:

EllisIsland

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 4, 2005
Messages
35
Reaction score
0
Thank you very much, looks like I am going to be busy for a while I will let you know how it goes.
 

Nick [D]vB

Member ++
Joined
Mar 7, 2005
Messages
151
Reaction score
4
You might have to "force" windows to use the driver because the ID will be wrong.

Once you get your stick working with ProgDVB or MyTheatre you're all set for TopUp.

I have posted these links on a few other boards for other Freecom users to try so I'll let you know if they find anything usefull.

Cheers,
Nick
 
Last edited:

gnashers

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
I too have a freecom stick and was wondering if you had any progres with theese new drivers, also im having a problem with picking up channels.
it wont detect a lot of channels that my stb recieves.
Iwas thinking it could be a driver or firmware issue (or both) but cant apear to find anything usefull on the freecom web site?

also just noticed that now it comes with a credit card size remote which mind didnt as it was one of the first ones

bit pissed about that really.
 
S

Silverback

Guest
Hi

Does anyone know if I can use this on an Apple Macintosh? I've got one on order for my PC but was just curious about what I would need to be able to get it running on a Mac.

TIA
 

dodger

Member +
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
237
Reaction score
1
Location
In the clouds
I'm getting one of these tomorrow. To burn the program you have recorded, do you have to encode it, using something like Nero visionexpress?
 

devcon

Inactive User
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
heres a little tut n some stuff i put together so try this m8
 

meeza

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 13, 2004
Messages
219
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester
im thinkin of gettin this usb stick for my laptop. was wondering what the people who already have one think of it. is it worth it? do you pick up the channels clearly? how easy is it to record etc?
thanks for the advice
 

nara

Who?
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
15,798
Reaction score
6,401
Location
Funksjonærbyen
No problems with mine. Recording is a doddle using the epg. The small aerial that comes with it is pretty useless unless you can actually see the transmitter.
 
TEST
Top