• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Free Static IP Please ?

nilrem

Member +
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
921
Likes
8
#1
Chaps , a mate of mine is having a wired ip camera security system installed in his garage and wants to be able to access the camera remotely via the web.

He doesnt have an ISP set up at his garage yet and we were looking at the cheapest way to get him on line with a static ip so he can do this

All idea's greatly appreciated

Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
6,926
Likes
65
#3
dynamic IP services like DynDNS are ideal for people in this situation. It would be very hard to find an ISP who would dish out a free static IP - this is normally a charged service.

I used to have one a few years back, it cost me £3 a month extra on top of my broadband bill, now I am with BT a service like this is fairly pricey, but my router supports DynDNS so doesnt make an issue for me.
 

nilrem

Member +
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
921
Likes
8
#6
Phew that looks complicated , is there anyone who has already done this point me in the right direction , step by step please if possible

Cheers
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
6,926
Likes
65
#7
DynDNS is very straight forward.

Check your router can use DynDNS

Sign up for the free service.

plug the login details into your router.

Done.

The only thing you will need to check on are the port details for the IP cam. These will probably need to be forwarded so that you can see it over the internet.
 

nilrem

Member +
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
921
Likes
8
#8
Cheers karym6 ,

I understand the router part and have opened a dyndns account am I right in understanding that if my router supports dyndns I don't need to install an update client as the router will advise dyndns of any ip changes ?

Cheers
 
Last edited:

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Likes
103
#9
Correct, the router will keep dyndns up to date as long as it supports dyndns. As we have said, most of them do, just check the specification before you order.

However if you are using the free service, once a month they will e-mail you to remind you to logon onto dyndns to keep your account active. The link is in the e-mail, it literally takes 30 secs to do.
 

nilrem

Member +
Joined
Mar 10, 2005
Messages
921
Likes
8
#10
Correct, the router will keep dyndns up to date as long as it supports dyndns. As we have said, most of them do, just check the specification before you order.

However if you are using the free service, once a month they will e-mail you to remind you to logon onto dyndns to keep your account active. The link is in the e-mail, it literally takes 30 secs to do.
Excellent cheers mate