Welcome to our community

Be apart of something great, join today!

Energy firms investigating customers who cut back on electricity to afford bills

Scandalous, we are getting screwed always by these firms, and then when you try to save money they don't like it :D. That's telling us you must consume their crazy overpriced product and pay ridiculous daily charges so they can send out investigators too check you aren't on the fiddle.

Some of you will see my name here and roll your eyes.... :p

I worked in the energy industry for over 10 years (no shit, I probably said that 10,000 times, sorry!) - a drop of usage from £115 a month to £65, without any solar, battery, etc investment (of which the supplier would've been aware) can only be a result of 2 things:

1) She was an absolute "burn all" customer with not efficiency mind. Talking about heating on most of the day kinda customer here
2) Meter has been tampered with

For the average, on the ball customers there simply isn't a realistic way to reduce your monthly bill by 44%.

So, for the energy supplier to check everything is in order for a customer who has magically reduced her bill by 44%, I think is reasonable. If this was a genuine change of habits, good on her for identifying she was wasting not only energy but her money and taking the steps to change.

On this visit, if everything was in order, the engineer would've been in and out in less than 10min - I can't believe honest people would've genuinely have a problem with that?!

Feel free to crucify my opinion - I am passionate about the subject only because I know how misunderstood the industry is. But also appreciate that some of the shit malpractice that happens doesn't really help the cause! lol

Last edited:
How it is and how it should be...
Them: Guilty until proven innocent
Us: Innocent until proven guilty
Some of you will see my name here is roll your eyes.... :p