Downscaling HD video

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,478
Likes
803
#1
Say, for instance, that I had a HD camcorder which records in .MTS or .MP4 formats but I might get some better video hardware in the future.

What program can I use to transcode properly?

I'll make it a bit more clear, just tried most recording modes and Mb/S and VLC stalls all the time. I have an ancient PC.
 
Last edited:

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,478
Likes
803
#2
Can peoples' PCs just play this HD stuff these days LMAO.

I'm archaic :(. With my graphics bandwidth I could probably draw the frames faster myself in MS Paint.
 

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,749
Likes
419
#3
Not really my area but for free software, HandBrake is a popular choice. For paid software, Adobe Premier Pro or Sony Vegas Pro

If you are looking for a real time hardware transcoder take a look at the Blackmagic Teranex or Matrox MXO2 offerings. I might be wrong but both seem to need software too.

However, if you're having trouble playing the files - transcoding is going to take a while too. What is the spec of the machine you are trying to playback on?
 
Last edited:

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,478
Likes
803
#4
Not really my area but for free software, HandBrake is a popular choice. For paid software, Adobe Premier Pro or Sony Vegas Pro

If you are looking for a real time hardware transcoder take a look at the Blackmagic Teranex or Matrox MXO2 offerings. I might be wrong but both seem to need software too.

However, if you're having trouble playing the files - transcoding is going to take a while too. What is the spec of the machine you are trying to playback on?
I think VLC can transcode but I need to have a proper look at it.

It's a fine 2003 vintage machine, Athlon XP3200+, 256MB FX5600 graphics :D. I did say it was ancient :). I just can't justify the money for a new machine, been putting it off forever.

So not everyone can play 40Mbit/S AVCHD?
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,478
Likes
803
#6
If you want Sony Vegas pro pm me mate and i'll send you a disc.
Cheers CS :). I doubt it would be of use to me though because the machine I was using was a couple of steps above the Babbage Difference Engine technology-wise.

Spectre may need a new PC...
 

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,749
Likes
419
#8
As it would allow hardware acceleration, upgrading the graphics card might be enough for smooth playback. However, you're likely running an AGP card - and they don't make them anymore :(

I can spec you out a multithreaded system for video transcoding if you'd like?
 

Spectre

Administrator
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Jun 3, 2001
Messages
39,478
Likes
803
#9
As it would allow hardware acceleration, upgrading the graphics card might be enough for smooth playback. However, you're likely running an AGP card - and they don't make them anymore :(

I can spec you out a multithreaded system for video transcoding if you'd like?
I need a new PC TBH Pob :(. Been saving a deposit the last few years and I'm repulsed by the thought of big spends LMAO.
 

little_pob

Jnr admin
Staff member
Jnr Admin
Joined
Dec 10, 2004
Messages
8,749
Likes
419
#10
I need a new PC TBH Pob
. Been saving a deposit the last few years and I'm repulsed by the thought of big spends LMAO.
I know that feeling. Thing is once you buy the house, you'll be even more disinclined to buy these kind of luxuries :(

In terms of price, I'm having trouble beating this: Zoostorm Desktop PC - Desktops | Ebuyer.com But I'd suggest throwing in an Nvidia GTX 650 or AMD Radeon HD 7770 (both around the £80-90 mark) to do some of the grunt work too.

The problem is doing that gets very close to the recommended PSU wattage on the calculator I use, which is pushing me to suggest going self build. Something like: Lists | Ebuyer.com

Neither will set the work on fire, but will give stutter free 1080/50p playback.
 
Last edited:

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Likes
103
#11
You can get a ex-corporate Core2Duo like Dell 755 and plug in basic video card for around £100 to keep you going for the time being.
 
TEST
Top