DM500-S - Newbie (but not complete) some help required please...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squibworth

Banned
Reaction score
Folks,

I am a Newbie (another one!) so be kind to me, I have however done a lot of searching and 'experimented' with some of the Tools like Filezilla, DCC and DBE today!

So the story is -

Bought a Dreambox 500-S from a Satellite Vendor with a Retail Outlet in the U.K (around £140.00) which I believe is original as I checked using Telnet and vendor matches to 00-09-34.

At first the box wasnt working, the image was getting corrupted so I took it back 4 times, and it seems to have stabilised and seems to be working fine. Frustrated somewhat I thought I could prob get up to speed with this myself so here I am.

I have a few questions:

1) How do I know what image the guy at the shop installed on it?

When I check Menu > About it doesnt show anything apart from:

BoxType: DM500
BoardRev: 0.6
Kernel Linux 2.69
Release: 0460

2) How do I know what type of Box this is i.e. DM550c,t etc and what is the
diffrence between the boxes?

3) If I have a basic image on what is the 'best' stable image for the DM500-S
- I have read Pli, Nabilosat are good etc? Where should these be saved to
what directory on the box - I would use FileZilla or Telnet etc.

4) Today, I managed to edit the channel list (to get rid of the Adult Channels) and send the settings back to the Dreambox - however when I edit a Bouqet in DBE it does not update the name of the 'Marker' - when i send the settings back to the box?

5) Is there a 'Custom Created Channel List' somewhere which is similar to the 'Sky Channels' i.e. with numbers edited e.g 101 BBC 1 etc.?

Thanks
Squibworth

I spent the day searching and I did look there (unless I have missed something) ?? still couldn't quite find the answers.... unless Im missing somehting?

well 1st of all to pay 140 notes for a 500s ,u need ur head looked at
as the going rate is about 60-65.
pli jade max var is a good image.