di4000n - bk - jtag

troopy

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
309
Reaction score
2
Location
Manchester
Hi,

I have made up a jtag interface according to "hot to build a simple jtag interface" by 'PSXNET' and connected it to the correct pins on the di4000n board, but when trying to connect using SDT i get 'error 43' PC to Target Cable Disconnected.

I have checked and double checked the interface and connections and all seems fine, also, I notice that the jtag I have made had fewer resistors than one from such as TMC.

Also according to the guide by 'PSXNET' the 3.3v is connected to both pins 1&2 and gnd is connected to pins 4,6 and 8.

My question is what state does the box need to be in to jtag?

i.e should I power it on with cable feed and scart disconnected? should I be in the engineers menu or is it ok for the display on the box to show 'N*L'? or what?

any help greatly appreciated.

cheers
 

fatblerk

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
1,429
Reaction score
2
troopy said:
Hi,
I have made up a jtag interface according to "hot to build a simple jtag interface" by 'PSXNET' and connected it to the correct pins on the di4000n board, but when trying to connect using SDT i get 'error 43' PC to Target Cable Disconnected.
I have checked and double checked the interface and connections and all seems fine, also, I notice that the jtag I have made had fewer resistors than one from such as TMC.
Also according to the guide by 'PSXNET' the 3.3v is connected to both pins 1&2 and gnd is connected to pins 4,6 and 8.
My question is what state does the box need to be in to jtag?
i.e should I power it on with cable feed and scart disconnected? should I be in the engineers menu or is it ok for the display on the box to show 'N*L'? or what?
any help greatly appreciated.
cheers
Make sure you've got the mac_mot running and have the box powered up with scart and feed disconnected .....

and my preference is BKE2.2 but if you use SDT make sure you don't run the beta version ......
 

troopy

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
309
Reaction score
2
Location
Manchester
SDT beta

Thanks mate,

I have the MAC_MOT running and both the feed and scart disconnected,

However I was running SDT beta version,

I will try to find a non-beta version and failing that I'll try BKE2.2, Is it difficult to use?, I had originally gone with SDT as it was walked through in the tutorial I read.

cheers
 

fatblerk

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
1,429
Reaction score
2
troopy said:
Thanks mate,
I have the MAC_MOT running and both the feed and scart disconnected,
However I was running SDT beta version,
I will try to find a non-beta version and failing that I'll try BKE2.2, Is it difficult to use?, I had originally gone with SDT as it was walked through in the tutorial I read.
cheers
Try this ....
 

troopy

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
309
Reaction score
2
Location
Manchester
thanks mate,

unfortuneatly got the same results, just to check I am doing things in this order:
power on box (display shows n*l)
connect parallell end to pc
start MAC_MOT
start SDT1.1
select pace 4000
enter NetID
click checksum
leave JTAG setup as default (ARM 940T | WIGGLER)
click 'connect'
get error

I have tried different variations of connecting the box and starting progs but still the same error.

I have checked the connections and configuration of them and they are fine, parrallel port is set to epp ecp and enabled.

I have just ordered the £10 jtag from TMC as it seems my home-made botch job is not working.
 

fatblerk

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
1,429
Reaction score
2
troopy said:
thanks mate,
unfortuneatly got the same results, just to check I am doing things in this order:
power on box (display shows n*l)
connect parallell end to pc
start MAC_MOT
start SDT1.1
select pace 4000
enter NetID
click checksum
leave JTAG setup as default (ARM 940T | WIGGLER)
click 'connect'
get error
I have tried different variations of connecting the box and starting progs but still the same error.
I have checked the connections and configuration of them and they are fine, parrallel port is set to epp ecp and enabled.
I have just ordered the £10 jtag from TMC as it seems my home-made botch job is not working.
Must admit, it looks like you've done everything you should have?

Lets hope the new jtag works ......:)
 

AtmelAce

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
793
Reaction score
5
Location
Farnborough
2 things- check pin 8-15 on the D type is linked and that in the bios, printer port is set to EPP.
 

troopy

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
309
Reaction score
2
Location
Manchester
Thanks for the reply mate,

8 - 15 are defineatly connected on the 25pin d-type connector, also the ground runs through pins 18 - 25

Also, I had pins 1-2 on the 4000 board connected to 3.3v and pins 4,6,8 connected to gnd, I have now 3.3v only to pin 2 and gnd to pin 4 0nly (which looks like it's connected to pin 6 anyway) so i have taken away 3.3v from pin 1 and gnd from pin 8 (as illustrated in other tutorials), I still get the same error 43.

I will try again setting the parrallel port to epp as opposed to 'epp | ecp as i haven't since these changes but but hold out little hope,

could anyone clarify the pinouts on the di4000n ?

much appreciated
 

benny59

DW Member ++
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
5,156
Reaction score
22
Location
northwest
Also, I had pins 1-2 on the 4000 board connected to 3.3v and pins 4,6,8 connected to gnd

m8, your standard wiggler jtag only has 1 wire that goes to 3.3v {you connect it to either pin1 or 2, "you dont connect it to both"}
 

troopy

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
309
Reaction score
2
Location
Manchester
cheers mate,

I bridged pins 1|2 and pins 2|6|8 then connected the 2 wires respectively,

Thats how I read that from 'how to build a simple jtag interface' by 'PSXNET'

As I said in the above post I have now connected 3.3v to pin 2 and gnd to pin 4
only.

by connecting my 3.3v to both pin 1 and 2 could I have done some damage?
 

benny59

DW Member ++
Joined
Nov 21, 2001
Messages
5,156
Reaction score
22
Location
northwest
pins 4/6/8 are already bridged on a 4000 board m8

the 3.3v is comeing from both connections on the mainboard {pin1/2}---the power comes from the mainboard to run your jtag, "its not the other way round"

by connecting my 3.3v to both pin 1 and 2 could I have done some damage? {i doubt it m8, "should be ok" }
 

troopy

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
309
Reaction score
2
Location
Manchester
Finally got it working and got the BK and IRD.

Thanks for all the help,

Does anyone have a copy of 'novice angels guide' complete with pics?

I found a cached copy on google but with no pics.

cheers.l
 

adflondon

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
101
Reaction score
1
Location
London
troopy said:
Finally got it working and got the BK and IRD.
Thanks for all the help,
Does anyone have a copy of 'novice angels guide' complete with pics?
I found a cached copy on google but with no pics.
cheers.l
Well done m8. :BLOBBY:

Hope to have the same result tomorrow
 

troopy

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
309
Reaction score
2
Location
Manchester
Finally everything is up and working,

thought I had bought a dud but with the kind help of the folks on this forum I now have it sorted,

Big thanks to you all.
 
TEST
Top