Complete newbie - what do I choose?

c12hamilton

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am a complete newbie to the concept of cardsharing and this forum, but I am about to move into a new place and this seems to be a much better deal than the one sky is offering. I have several questions and this seems like the best place to ask them all, and apologies if anything has already been asked and answered in advance.

There is an existing standard sky dish at the new property, with 2 satellite feeds into the living room, I am looking to also put an extra feed into the bedroom.

So for the questions:

Dreambox and other boxes - I see there are a variety of boxes that you can set up, all at different prices, some are dreambox at 100's of pounds and others are only 60 pounds, what is the difference between the boxes? for me I will want a box that can pause and rewind, record and shows HD and 3D in as high a resolution as possible, and the only channels I am really bothered about are the sky UK channels, if I can watch live premier league via dubai or some adult channels every now and then great, but sky HD is the reason I want it. Do I need to shell out 200 for the dreambox HD SE?

Clones - from what I can see clones are not the real boxes, does that make a difference? What difference would there be in terms of watching tv between a clone and an original box? what about support? roughly how long would the box last?

Broadband connection - I understand we need a constant broadband connection, some of the boxes seem to have sim cards in them, does that mean they would not need to link up with my broadband? if they do need to link up to my broadband do all the boxes have wifi connectability? If I have broadband from sky will they be able to tell what I am doing over the broadband with the sharing etc?