Black Box 500 Green Light Frozen

Kaij

Inactive User
Reaction score
Afternoon All :Biggrin2:

I am a complete novice at this stuff but was hoping for some help from some of you kind people.

The problem i have is my Black Box 500 decided to cut out after a week of using it.Now it just displays the green light but no image and im unable to do anything with the remote or anything at all.

I have been reading around the forum and understand that i could carry out some sort of flash/reset which should get it working again.

So far the actions i have taken are:purchased a usb to rs232 cable to connect the box to my laptop and downloaded dreamUp 1.3.3.9 i have plugged my ethernet cable to the BB attached the rs232 and pressed connect on dream up but nothing happens.i dont have a com port so im using the usb im not really sure what the settings should be or what im meant to be doing to get this box up and running and would really appreciate all the help i could get.
Kaij.

Afternoon All :Biggrin2:

I am a complete novice at this stuff but was hoping for some help from some of you kind people.

The problem i have is my Black Box 500 decided to cut out after a week of using it.Now it just displays the green light but no image and im unable to do anything with the remote or anything at all.

I have been reading around the forum and understand that i could carry out some sort of flash/reset which should get it working again.

So far the actions i have taken are:purchased a usb to rs232 cable to connect the box to my laptop and downloaded dreamUp 1.3.3.9 i have plugged my ethernet cable to the BB attached the rs232 and pressed connect on dream up but nothing happens.i dont have a com port so im using the usb im not really sure what the settings should be or what im meant to be doing to get this box up and running and would really appreciate all the help i could get.
Kaij.

You are not far away mate