500s How to connect?

chris01639

Inactive User
Reaction score
I have just got a dreambox 500s that's already flashed. I have a basic subscription to sky with a sky+ box & a viewing card.

I've correctly inserted the card into the Dreambox.

There are 2 LNB RF cables that go into Input 1 & 2 on the back of the Sky+ box, how do these connect to the 500S? I've tried connecting them to the LNB in & out ports, but whenever I try to scan on the single satellite Astra transponder I get a Fatal Error, Networks failed to load.

Is there something wrong with the Dreambox or am I connecting it up wrong?

Any help will be much appreciated. I'm new to all this so please tell me how or what I need to do in Idiot proof language.

Thanks again.

There are 2 coax leads that screw into the back of the Sky+ box. Do I need a spliter to make these 2 cables into 1?

They go into Input 1 & Input 2 on the back of the Sky+ box and connect to the LNB on the Sky dish.

Thanks for your help.

well the DB500 is nothing like your sky+ box, you cannot record/watch 2 channels a time like you can with the sky+ box. DB500 has 1 tuner so you can only watch 1 channel.

it is a bit pointless using the DB500 unless you have a motorized dish. by the sounds of what you want the sky+ box is better because you can watch 1 channel and record another.

I realise this, but don't require this because I now have a cable box with these features. The dish is for the concervitory and for the kids to watch disney etc. I was told that the D500 would do the job.

If you have sky+ then you probably have a twin or quad lnb (2 or 4 coax cables coming from your dish).

Two will go into your sky+ box because it needs to two feeds to watch one channel and record another.

I think you will need to get another coax to come from the lnb to go to your 500s.

Would it be possible to connect the existing 2 coax cables to make 1 so should I require to use the Sky+ in the future?

Thanks