32 bit or 64 bit

ben600249

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2005
Messages
790
Reaction score
10
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
i know it might be a easy question to answer to some people but i want to try vista but i dont know if my pc is 32 bit or 64 bit how do i find out without sounding stupid thanks for a:Boo: ll your great help
 

biffo1

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
9,096
Reaction score
2,124
Location
Manchester
if u have a AMD 64 bit processor which clearly marked on your unit, then the 64 bit , but p4`s and intel celeron , are normaly 32bit editions
 

demonx

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
732
Reaction score
12
Even if its 64bit, I would recommend getting the 32bit version since there are compatibility issues with the 64bit version.
 

KirstY140385

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
113
Reaction score
0
Even if its 64bit, I would recommend getting the 32bit version since there are compatibility issues with the 64bit version.

It depends what OS you are going to stick on the computer windows xp was very bad for getting drivers and programs to work but windows vista 64bit has a lot more support than xp 64bit ever had.
 

dilly2006

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
459
Reaction score
0
When i installed windows vista 64bit my
Epson printer
Epson scanner
Microsoft keyboard (with finger print reader)
External usb hard drives
were all not working and there was no drivers available for vista 64bit. There is however drivers available for the 32bit vista. for all the devices above except for the usb h/drive
I'm quite surprised how microsoft arent even supporting there own products for 64bit like the keyboard with finger print reader,
 
Last edited:

pacman362

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 23, 2007
Messages
571
Reaction score
7
core 2 duo is 64 bit if you have a pentium machine, but as said earlier i still use 32bit because of incompatability problems @ the moment.
 
TEST
Top