16mb upgrade

krazylegz

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,514
Likes
14
#1
hi everyone. my 16mb upgrade eventually come for my nokia d box. i've put it in but it's not regestering on the lcd and evocamd is still not working as it's still only reading 16mb of memory. do i need to do anything else for it work other than just put it in? also would i need to flash a diff image for it to register?

thanks

:BLOBBY:
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#2
The memory extension is automatically registered from the bootloader.
 

krazylegz

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,514
Likes
14
#3
@mgb. thanks for the response. since it's not showing on the lcd do you just think the box is totally useless and best to bin it as i'm totally sick of it
 

krazylegz

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,514
Likes
14
#5
yeah mgb thats where i put it but i never got one of them plastic things to put over the top of if
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#6
The plastic thing is only for preventing the board to slip out of the socket.
Unpower your box, remove the memory board, clean the contacts on the board, remount it and try again.
 

krazylegz

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,514
Likes
14
#7
ok i'll give it a shot but if it's working it should show on the lcd something like 16/16/08 is that right?
 

krazylegz

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,514
Likes
14
#9
ok mgb i tried cleaning it and the board but still no joy. so i just had a play with it. it's got gavs latest image on and still only said 16/00/08 so i went into hardware settings and changed the ucodes to 0014. then when the box restarts itself it said 16/16/08 on the lcd but it only goes as far lade... then keeps restarting over and over again. untill i do a flash reset or unplug then back in but then it just goes back to 16/00/08.

any ideas?
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#10
It looks like there is a slack joint.
Clean the contacts with nailpolish remover and tissue handkerchiefs for instance and do then a proper installation.
 

krazylegz

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,514
Likes
14
#11
na still no use mgb. cleaned with nail polish remover. says 16/16/08 on lcd but wont load. i can only get it to load if i take out the extension card. think it's ready for the bin. since this is goosed what would you say is best to buy next another dbox or eurovox?
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#12
Install plain bootmanager, connect your box and pc with null modem cable, disable all option except com 9600 in the bootmanager options, klick on start, press the up arrow button on the box and plug in your box. If you see text on the lcd you can release the button. You should see now the results of a memory test in com terminal of the bootmanager.
 

krazylegz

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,514
Likes
14
#13
debug: DDF: Calibrating delay loop... debug: DDF: 67.79 BogoMIPS
debug: BMon V1.0 mID 01
debug: feID 7a gtxID 0b
debug: fpID 5a dsID 01-b5.ae.64.03.00.00-3a
debug: HWrev X5 SWrev 0.81
debug: B/Ex/Fl(MB) 16/00/08
WATCHDOG reset enabled
debug: &_text 0x10000, &_etext 0x26160, &_data 0x26160, &_edata 0x29c50
debug: &_end 0x347dc, &__stack 0x400000
debug: Memory tests (0x400000 -- 0x1000000)
debug: NumberTest: debug: passed
debug: MarchTest: debug: passed
debug: PermTest: debug: passed
dbox2:root>


that is the result of the test mgb. but if i keep turning it of and on it registers as 16/16/08 but still keeps resetting itself and wont load untill i turn it off then it just reads 16/00/08 again. totally pi**ed off with it now
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#14
You should do a memory test with 16/16/8 and don't play with the extension board if the box is powerded.
 

krazylegz

DW Member +
Joined
Oct 9, 2005
Messages
5,514
Likes
14
#15
debug: passed
debug: PermTest: debug: passed
debug: Extension Memory tests (0x1000000 -- 0x2000000)
debug: NumberTest: debug: failed at 0x1b44000
debug: MarchTest: debug: failed at 0x1ffffbc
debug: PermTest: debug: failed at 0x1c0c008
dbox2:root> debug: DDF: Calibrating delay loop... debug: DDF: 67.79 BogoMIPS
debug: BMon V1.0 mID 01
debug: feID 7a gtxID 0b
debug: fpID 5a dsID 01-b5.ae.64.03.00.00-3a
debug: HWrev X5 SWrev 0.81
debug: B/Ex/Fl(MB) 16/16/08
WATCHDOG reset enabled
debug: &_text 0x10000, &_etext 0x26160, &_data 0x26160, &_edata 0x29c50
debug: &_end 0x347dc, &__stack 0x400000
debug: Memory tests (0x400000 -- 0x1000000)
debug: NumberTest: debug: passed
debug: MarchTest: debug: passed
debug: PermTest: debug: passed
debug: Extension Memory tests (0x1000000 -- 0x2000000)
debug: NumberTest: debug: failed at 0x1c04740
debug: MarchTest: debug: failed at 0x1ffffbc
debug: PermTest: debug: failed at 0x1c0c008
dbox2:root>

heres the results mgb when it eventually recognised the extra memory
 

mgb

Inactive User
Joined
May 9, 2005
Messages
3,939
Likes
29
#16
The errors are in the last 3 MBs of the memory board. I guess the memory board is faulty.
 

shaq32_atak

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
6
Likes
0
#19
hi all first time. krazylegz u solve the problem? i have the same problem,i will post a pic with the test of 16 MB.it's not the ram problem b'cose i use this memory in another nokia and work fine..
 
TEST
Top