12v Power to T911?

cric2k

Member ++
Joined
Nov 26, 2005
Messages
708
Reaction score
10
Location
Isle of Man
Hi,
ive just bought my first t911 and i'm about to try unlocking my first card.

unfortunately I can't find a 9v power supply about, only a 12v one.

Will this work or cause any damage to the cards?

cheers
 

nickgen

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
237
Reaction score
1
try argos they do a "Ross" regulated variable power supply it works fine with my t199
 

fatblerk

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
1,429
Reaction score
2
cric2k said:
Hi,
ive just bought my first t911 and i'm about to try unlocking my first card.

unfortunately I can't find a 9v power supply about, only a 12v one.

Will this work or cause any damage to the cards?

cheers
All the blue t911 I've seen have a built-in regulator and will happily work up to 18v ac or dc so there shouldn't be a problem with your 12 volter .....
 

cric2k

Member ++
Joined
Nov 26, 2005
Messages
708
Reaction score
10
Location
Isle of Man
its a blue one and it appears to be working fine now (bloody scripts take ages to run)
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
107
Location
Who knows !
tbh, i've found an old 11.2v power supply (an old cb radio supply, I think) works far better than a 9v supply. The initial generation of glitchers nearly all required 12v for power and, as they use nearly identical circuitry, there should be no problem running at 12v
 

ramraider

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 1, 2005
Messages
1,796
Reaction score
14
mine always fails when using 9v 12v works fine :Cheers:
 

TBC

Inactive User
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
4,015
Reaction score
50
if your t911 fails when using a 9v power supply it is a question of insufficient current being supplied. on a variable regulated power supply it will make no difference to the t911 what voltage you use. because all that is actually required is 5.6volts.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
107
Location
Who knows !
TWOBEERCANS said:
if your t911 fails when using a 9v power supply it is a question of insufficient current being supplied. on a variable regulated power supply it will make no difference to the t911 what voltage you use. because all that is actually required is 5.6volts.

Not quite sure about that !

Whilst most of the circuitry runs via the 5v regulator the actual glitch pulse is derived directly from the supplied power supply without going through the regulator.
 

TBC

Inactive User
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
4,015
Reaction score
50
nozzer said:
Not quite sure about that !

Whilst most of the circuitry runs via the 5v regulator the actual glitch pulse is derived directly from the supplied power supply without going through the regulator.

this seems unlikely as the glitch pulse is a percentile of the vcc applied to the card!! my nexus certainly works effectively at 6volts as well as 12

electronically speaking it would not be a good idea to apply pulses greater than the vcc to any digital gate.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
107
Location
Who knows !
OK, I didn't explain what I meant very well !

On my glitcher the glitch voltage is produced by integrating a pulse width modulated output from the processor. This of course will produce a voltage between 0 and 5V. This is then buffered via an op-amp follower constructed from an LM358 device which is powered directly from the incoming power supply. The LM358 seems to work much better if it has a couple of volts headroom so 7v is probably the recommended minimum. The circuit I used recommends 9v but other circuits recommend 12v.

It probably makes no practical difference as long as the supply voltage is above about 6.5v to 7v except that noise on a lower voltage supply may be more prone to cause noise on any resultant glitch pulse.

As a practical observation though many glitching circuits do actually apply voltages greater than Vcc to a circuit. The whole point of glitching is, afterall, to attempt to get a circuit to operate incorrectly. This is obvously not the case with this circuit though as it is actually the cards Vcc supply that is being glitched. An alternative glitching method for Rom10 cards does manipulate Vcc to over 10v for nS periods though !
 

khan

Member ++
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
460
Reaction score
7
hi mate
which model is it i got the orange nexus and it run fine on 12v
 

TBC

Inactive User
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
4,015
Reaction score
50
that make's perfect sense.

since the actual gates operate at 2/3 vcc (threshold) and we can't manipulate this then the vcc on the card must be manipulated in order to create a grey area as far as the 2/3rds vcc is concerned. so we end up with a gate that based on very tight timing wouldn't know wether it was open or closed.

but the suspision would be that a variance much lower than a few volts could be employed. infact i had estimated that .6 volts would be ample, the need for a rock solid power supply is of course apparent.

from what i have seen it is crappy power supplies that make 9-12volts a prerequisite of the glitching process.

i also thought that nagra cards could work at 3.3volts and had a tolerance for 5volts. < this of course is an assumption. bet i sound stupid now lol..
 

Exorcist

DW Member +
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
699
Reaction score
91
My orange Nexus loves my cable modem power adapter.
 

edcase

Inactive User
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
1,161
Reaction score
18
@khan .. do you have a nexus that works at 12v.. LOL

edc.
 

ramraider

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 1, 2005
Messages
1,796
Reaction score
14
TWOBEERCANS said:
that make's perfect sense.

since the actual gates operate at 2/3 vcc (threshold) and we can't manipulate this then the vcc on the card must be manipulated in order to create a grey area as far as the 2/3rds vcc is concerned. so we end up with a gate that based on very tight timing wouldn't know wether it was open or closed.

but the suspision would be that a variance much lower than a few volts could be employed. infact i had estimated that .6 volts would be ample, the need for a rock solid power supply is of course apparent.

from what i have seen it is crappy power supplies that make 9-12volts a prerequisite of the glitching process.

i also thought that nagra cards could work at 3.3volts and had a tolerance for 5volts. < this of course is an assumption. bet i sound stupid now lol..


This ie getting very technical lol
 

cric2k

Member ++
Joined
Nov 26, 2005
Messages
708
Reaction score
10
Location
Isle of Man
gawd damn it people I only asked if a 12v power cable is acceptable.

need a degree in electrical engineering to read the rest of the post :p
 

bash213001

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2005
Messages
368
Reaction score
24
yes 12v no probs m8
 
TEST
Top