wifi sharing internet

mach7

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
my neigbore has a actiontec router, he lives in a flat and he has allowed me to access his internet,

i can pickup his wifi signal but it is very weak.

is there any way to boost this signal, ie if i purchase some sort of repeater or some sort of device which i can setup in my flat .

i have at the mo a linksys access point, but i think this is not compatible with his router,

any ideas ,
thank you
 

mach7

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
allroad said:
get him to move his wifi point first and see if it helps

ALREADY TRIED IT DOESNT HELP, I ONLY GET SIGNAL IN ONE ROOM ONLY AND AT ONE PARTICULAR POINT,
 

s200rat

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
62
Reaction score
0
you can sometimes get unofficial firmwares for routers, have a search around google and that, on the hacked firmware ou usually get options to boost signal power ect...
 

lone.gunman

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 16, 2001
Messages
1,514
Reaction score
2
You can also buy for some wireless gear, additional atennae, that will help with signal strength & coverage (you could then fit this on 'his' router)....I know D-Link do these for their stuff.
Not much point in you getting a repeater, as there's no signal there to repeat (although you may be able to get your access point into repeater mode..no??)....
Really you need to look at the router end, what sort of building you in, is his flat above yours? Is it a steel framed building..??etc etc..
 

mach7

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 12, 2004
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
(although you may be able to get your access point into repeater mode..no??)....

I v tried setting my linksys into repeterer mode, by updating with a diff firmware, etc.. but it didnt pickup neighbores router, maybe his actiontec is not compatible with WDS ??? etc..:mad:

i dont want to keep borthering my neighbore as well

:mad:
 

lone.gunman

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 16, 2001
Messages
1,514
Reaction score
2
I can't see why it shouldn't work as a repeater, suppose you may have to allow the ip address of the router in your access point & vice~versa...
But that still doesn't help with the signal problem..You could try taking your access point upstairs & plug into the router via cable, then see if you get any better signal..
 
TEST
Top