Spain Sat Help

q2uantum

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am after a bit of advise for my father in law.

He has a property in spain in a gated complex. They currently have a sly box in the property that is connected to a communal dish. The sly box is currently used for picking up Freeview channels BUT it wont get them all. The channels I believe it should pick up but can't displays "There is no signal being transmitted".

What I am wondering if any other setup could be used on this communal dish to allow him to get more channels than he does now?. I know that he wont be able to get sly sports etc

There is no real way we can adjust the dish with it being communal and also he is the furthest property away from the dish so could it be a signal strength problem?

Does anyone have any suggestions on things that could be tried or a better setup that could be used? (He doesnt want his own dish so it counts that one out)

P.S I am new to the Sat scene bit quite experienced with the D500C's and DBOX2's on the cable scene.

Regards

q2

Its a LARGE dish probably 2metres wide at a guess.

Im not sure what other people do in the other houses as a lot of them are spanish owned and the others are english owned but are used for letting only.

Is there a way to test the signal strength at the box end?

I was thinking of replacing the sly box with something else that is capable of picking up other channels, as he has been told by "a bloke in a pub" that he could get Premiership games but with foreign commentary which he quite likes the idea of! Is this possible?

Regards

q2

1. sky uk on 28e dont have foreign commentary for premiership games
2. could get premiership games on a seperate 60cm dish pointed to 13e or 19e..audio can be changed to english using remote....
3. a sky digibox is no use for this, he would need a linux based box with official card or c/s

re: no signal, certain channels fall off in the pm, eg bbc's, itv's, should get itvhd no probs though