simple Windows software

steve7713

Member ++
Joined
Nov 25, 2006
Messages
421
Reaction score
4
I have just been asked to set up a PC for my mother over the weekend, she bought it today and is due broadband next week,

She is going on a computer course soon and I do not know what software has came with the machine yet.

I was planning on putting Firefox and thunderbird and Open Office, I also expect to look at or install anti virus, firewall and something to burn CD's for here pictures.

Is the Windows 7 firewall capable? I use NOD32 and Nero do you think these are suitable or is there other recommendations that I should consider.
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Reaction score
1,283
Location
Essex
The built in windows firewall is inbound only so not blocking outbound stuff like trojan dialing home. About the same level of protection as having a router.

MS have released a beta version of Microsoft Security Essentials v2 (free download)which now includes a two way firewall.

V1 which is anti-virus/anti-spyware is low resource usage, has good protection and best for the none techie, it easy to use. I don't expect the update to be much different.
 

hatab

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
6,273
Reaction score
538
Location
UK
unless you live real close to your mums i would install a remote log on software as it saves so much hassel of trying to explain how to get something working when she does summat wrong.

i use crossloop for my mum she is 125 miles away so its not a nip down the street.

CrossLoop - Affordable Online Computer Help - Technical Support Services free

i didnt setup account with them just skip/bypass that bit and you have your mums desktop on your machine in a jiffy.

there are others that will be recommended but this does me and my mum (i have xp she has win7 no issues)
 

hatab

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
6,273
Reaction score
538
Location
UK
yes you can, the only thing i found i couldnt do on the remote machine was play around with av and firewall settings (avg) but probably not a bad thing.

if you can find an older version there are more options than the new "free" version the extra options have been moved to the pay version.
 

BIG-HOL

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
6,590
Reaction score
759
yes you can, the only thing i found i couldnt do on the remote machine was play around with av and firewall settings (avg) but probably not a bad thing.

if you can find an older version there are more options than the new "free" version the extra options have been moved to the pay version.
cheers fella gunna have a look at it!
 

oneman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
7,504
Reaction score
1,283
Location
Essex
You can also give www.logmein.com a try. Full console redirection so its basically the same as sitting at the PC.

Basically when the remote PC powers on, it reports itself to the logmein website. Then if you want to remote control it, you logon to the website (which now has IP address of mum's PC) and it will direct you to her PC. No need to mess around with her router setting up port forwarding the as the connection is initiated by her PC internally.
 

hatab

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
6,273
Reaction score
538
Location
UK
RapidShare: 1-CLICK Web hosting - Easy Filehosting version 2.43 before they spilt from free and pay, gives you all the file transfer upto 10G files !!

crossloop is like logmein no router setup needed uses port 80 normal web traffic it uses 128bite blowfish encryption etc and is initiated by a person so safe (well as safe as the web can be)
 
TEST
Top