Initialising USB times out

riscatto

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Trying to initialise 500gb USB, runs to 66/100 then after awhile times out. Anyway to get over this or initialise on PC?
I have formatted on PC both FAT32 and also tried NTFS but when trying to initialise on Octagon SF8008 it times out

Any advice appreciated

Still struggling with this, just purchased new 500gb Lenovo USB, exactly the same happens times out when initialising on Octagon.
Also tried converting to Ext 4 which failed
Any advice appreciated

You have not stated which image and version you are using. Are you able to get debug log of process? You have a hardware multiboot receiver, do you get same result with another image?

Initailise = format in ext file system.
You should be able to do this in windows.
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.

Thanks for reply, you are trying to help a novice here, the image is Open ATV which was on the box when I purchased it, not sure I have another image installed, will have to reply to that later, is there a certain make of USB that is more reliable? To be honest I didn't realise that this box wouldn't hold regular Hard Drive. May be a day or two before I reply to Image etc and give full info as it is spare box
Thank you once again

You should start from scratch and Flash an image of your choice and go from there.

You may be able to flash it online. Press the blue button and look for flash online option.

And you can get away with not initilising the drive format it to fat 32 on a pc and then just mount the drive.

Formatting USB now, do I still need to flash box with new image? if so which do you advise?
Have to try all this tonight, really grateful

Trying to format seems only ExFat allowed no Fat 32?
exfat should be fine.

So i take it your not taking our advice to flash a recent image to your box then ?

You dont even need to spoil the image your on now you can flash a new image to slot 2