How To Get Sopcast On Your TV

bod

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
3,304
Reaction score
222
Location
In the SIN BIN
Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

This tut will show you how to get sopcast streams on your TV using ps3mediaserver(PMS).
It will work for the ps3, xbox 360 and any NMT/popcornhour.
As PMS uses DLNA and has render profiles for the following it should work for these too :-
Sony Bravia 4500/5500, FreeboxHD, Kuro, Philips Aurea TV and Net TV, Realtek (Asus O!Play, Xtreamer, AC Ryan PlayOn!HD, Brite-view CinemaTube), Samsung Wiselink TVs, Streamium, WDTV Live, and XBMC.

On a side note for XBMC users the simplest method is to create a text file, copy and paste this into it
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
(where 192.168.0.1 is your router IP), rename it to “sopcast.m3u”, place it in XBMC\UserData\playlists, open your sopcast stream on your PC/networked PC, then open the m3u file in XBMC and your done!


PMS is available for Windows, Linux and macOSX but I don’t see a mac version of sopcast on their site so sorry to the mac people.

First things first.
If you don’t have it dl and install sopcast
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
DL and install PMS. The betas are normally quite stable so grab the latest.
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
DL chocolateboys pmsencoder plugin and place it in Program Files \PS3 Media Server\plugins
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
Win7 users may have codec related issues so refer to this guide for codec setup set up (i believe that this is more to do with streaming content from a HDD not web streams but it cant hurt to use this setup anyway)
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
You will need to add a stream location to PMS next.
To do this locate the install folder (default is C:\Program Files\PS3 Media Server\), then edit the WEB.conf file with a text editor of your choice (I use notepad++). Its up to you where you add the stream as long as you remember where you put it, I chose #internet tvs. Just paste this line where you want it to appear in PMS
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
while you are in this folder you should also edit the PMS.config file to add pmsencoder to the front of the engines list
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
Most of the options in PMS are self explanatory and it works straight from the tin, so if you are unsure about what you are doing no need to worry.
By default PMS shares all your HDDs so its up to you if you want to limit this under the "Navagation/Share" tab.

The settings we need are under the "Transcode" tab.
The only thing we need to do here is (on the left hand side) got to “Video Web Streaming Engines), highlight MEncoder Web and then click the blue up arrow until its at the top




You will have to save and restart the HTTP server (buttons at the top) after this
Once these couple of things are done you are ready to go.

Just open the sopcast stream of your choice on your networked PC and then its off to your PS3/NMT/Xbox360 or whatever and select ps3mediaserver from your menu then go to WEB then TVs and select the sopcast entry.
Give it a few seconds and there you are – sopcast on your TV!
The menus obviously differ from system to system but generally for consoles it is the video menu you need to be in and for NMTs and other dedicated streaming devices it should show on your main menu.

PMS is a great little app that can stream your video (SD and HD), music and pictures to a lot of devices so even if you don’t use sopcast its still well worth a look at.
 

bn3

Member +
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
945
Reaction score
62
Location
ask me
Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

Looks very good info thanks , I don't watch any sport but last week a friend had asked me if I could figure out a way for him to show the online pc football streams he watches on his tv without buying any more equipment ,
I looked through the channel list on sopcast site but they mean nothing to me . Do the football channels normaly show most live games ?
 

Pete_London

Inactive User
Joined
May 31, 2009
Messages
614
Reaction score
293
Location
mud hut
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

Will work you just need to get the channel numbers from online sites like Wiziwig, and it will work just fine.
 

bn3

Member +
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
945
Reaction score
62
Location
ask me
Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

Ok thanks , guess I'm playing with this tomorrow then
 

bn3

Member +
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
945
Reaction score
62
Location
ask me
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

having trouble with this guide mate . i have no PMS.config file to add pmsencoder to the front of the engines list??

also skipping this step and trying it without i only see my hdd folders on my ps3
 
Last edited:

bn3

Member +
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
945
Reaction score
62
Location
ask me
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

ok , i created a config for it as follows :

Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.

i just grabbed this off a random web post so no idea if its correct for my needs

ps3 still will not find the stream , it finds all my folders but not the stream?

also whenever i prioratise MEncoder Web in psm and save it goes back to default on restart?
 

bn3

Member +
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
945
Reaction score
62
Location
ask me
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

if anyone has this working on a w7 machine , could i please get a look at your Web.conf and pms.conf
 

bn3

Member +
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
945
Reaction score
62
Location
ask me
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

now have this working with sopcast and ts:vlc , although your initial post gave me the starting point that i have thanked you for it has lots of missing infomation and is a bit misleading if anyone els requires a tut i would be happy to do one but since no other replies have been posted i will not waste my time
 

Mick

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 19, 1999
Messages
31,998
Reaction score
8,491
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

@ Bn3

It would be very useful to make this information available, bods initial post was in 2011, so I am guessing allot has moved on :)

Thanks very much.

Mick
 

bn3

Member +
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
945
Reaction score
62
Location
ask me
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

ahh ok mick it must of been another noob resorecting the post then been deleted by admin , combined with me failing to check post dates : ill update a simple tut for it and get it posted this week some time,
 

HappyH

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
3,639
Reaction score
6,680
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

Nice one bn3, I wouldn't mind a tut on it. Any comment on picture quality when it's running?
HH.
 

bn3

Member +
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
945
Reaction score
62
Location
ask me
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

i think it all depends on the stream quality m8 , since i only started this for a friend as i dont watch any sport or live TV for that matter i have not played with any settings for bit rates and such , my initial thoughts when getting it working through sopcast was that the quality on the tv matched the stream as displayed on the pc , but since its setup goes through pc, 2x programs, and the play station , i am sure there will be an abundance of settings you can play with if you want to try and get a better quality or if yours seams not as good as the oridginal stream ,

only just got the TS:VLC method working today and i thought the picture on the tv was not quite as good as the original on the pc but still perfectly watchable i also sufferd from some lag issues but had 3 diffrent voip services running and some gaming stuff on the go at the same time
 

bn3

Member +
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
945
Reaction score
62
Location
ask me
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

sorry its later than planned but been busy , its v much like the old post but a few things in that had me going round in circles .




please be aware that this tutorial is very basic for getting sopcast and torrent stream VLC (ace stream) to display on your tv with windows-7 and a playstation, there are many veriabals that can be in place from system to system and the way your home network is set up i can only show you how i got mine to work i would also like to add that this should work straight to my samsung smart tv without having to go through the playstation , but although i can see the connection through tv source list and select the stream its not actually working yet.

i will supply a link to the official "pms for dummies" guide at the end where you can find lots of useful explonations and links for setting up pms to get the best preformance and trouble shooting

1
things you need :

playstation media server =
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
sopcast =
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
vlc + ace stream addon.
vlc =
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
ace stream =
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.

i sugest downloading all of these first and running them once before we start to mess with the settings . also it might be a good idea if you have any installed already to remove and re-install to make sure we are all on the same page with default configs, unless you are comfortable troubleshooting any unexpected problems yourself, should they arise.


2
after installing and closing go into the install directory for pms and find the plugins folder
eg.
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
now download chocolateboys pms encoder =
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
and place the .jar file into your ps3 media server plugins folder

back out one folder to
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
and look to see if you have a WEB.config file if you do copy that file to clipboard

now go to a hiden folder in windows explora
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
in there you should see a pms.conf file and maybe a web.conf file if you have no web.conf then paste the one from your clipboard. You now need to edit the Web.conf to display your 2 new streams , edit the web.conf with any text editor prog you like , (i just associated mine with windows note pad)


you need to add these two entries into the list :

Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.

close and save.

3
now open TS player (VLC) and across the top open tools,prefrances.
at the bottom of this settings page click show settings all
on the left side menu choose stream output
in the default stream output chain paste this :

Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
and check the box display while streaming.
save and exit,

you are all done now as far as i have got with this but there is a step within play station media server that i have to repeat each time i want to stream , i have messed about with engien prioratys and such but i can not get the setting to stick , so unless you can find a solution you will have to repeate each time as well


4
open your stream on eather sopcast or ace stream then open pms , on pms tabs go to transcodeing setting and in the left menu under Web video streaming engines move MEncoder to the top with the blue arrows at the bottom then at the top of pms program , hit save then restart.

go off to your ps3 and navigate to the pms on there then you should see the WEB folder and the 2 locations in there that you added to your .conf file inside is your streams , they can display black screan for up to 10 mins when you try to watch but once started should only be a few seconds behind the original stream , this will be home network dependant of


i hope this helps and hear is the link to the official guide on anything PMS

Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
 
Last edited:

meanmofo

Inactive User
Joined
Jun 7, 2013
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Re: Hot To Get Sopcast On Your TV

Great tut. Finally got it working after reading loads of other forums. Thanks. Cheers mate
 

spud1966

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
10,531
Reaction score
5,100
Location
The Moon
Last edited by a moderator:
TEST
Top