Routers help setting up vpn

brian0812

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
1,099
hi all i have 2 plusnet hub one routers flashed with LuCI lede-17.01 id like to run my digibit vpn on one of the routers but i just can not work out how to set it up is there anyone out there who can guide me on how to set it up please ? ive looked at some of the guides on the net but im not having any luck at all

thanks for looking and your time

regards brian
 

brian0812

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
1,099
whats ur actual problem?

do u have openvpn installed?

did you try the command
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
if so what errors?
hi yes i have open vpn installed im just not sure how to get it to work with the digibit-ovpn-file

just did this command [email protected]:~# openvpn San Francisco USA Server 2.ovpn
but i get
Options error: I'm trying to parse "San" as an --option parameter but I don't see a leading '--'
Use --help for more information.
 
Last edited:

Pimped

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2004
Messages
2,582
whats ur actual problem?

do u have openvpn installed?

did you try the command
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
if so what errors?
hi yes i have open vpn installed im just not sure how to get it to work with the digibit-ovpn-file

just did this command [email protected]:~# openvpn San Francisco USA Server 2.ovpn
but i get
Options error: I'm trying to parse "San" as an --option parameter but I don't see a leading '--'
Use --help for more information.
Looks like you need to put quotes around the entire filename. Try 'single quotes like this'


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
930
hi yes i have open vpn installed im just not sure how to get it to work with the digibit-ovpn-file

just did this command [email protected]:~# openvpn San Francisco USA Server 2.ovpn
but i get
Options error: I'm trying to parse "San" as an --option parameter but I don't see a leading '--'
Use --help for more information.
linux does not like white spaces thats why you are getting that error.

rename the .ovpn on your pc without the white spaces and transfer it over or enter the following
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
and press the tab button that will auto complete the file name if its the only file that starts with San in that folder.

are you sure you transferred the .ovpn in to the roots home folder?

can you run this command for me.
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
 
Last edited:

janobi

Janet to us
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
8,544
You could of course install the VPN to a raspberry PI, and then just route the traffic that way. Split your network into a /24, and split the traffic. Anything with an IP upto .128 goes out the normal internet, and anything upto .254 goes out over the VPN.
 

papa2

DW Member +
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
775
I'm using Digibit and had the same trouble as you , they told me it doesnt work routers yet
 

brian0812

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
1,099
I'm using Digibit and had the same trouble as you , they told me it doesnt work routers yet
he told me it dose and sent the .ovpn files to me i just need to work out how to set it up i did find this guide but its for openwart and it dont seem to be the same interface
 

Attachments

papa2

DW Member +
Joined
Mar 15, 2006
Messages
775
he told me it dose and sent the .ovpn files to me i just need to work out how to set it up i did find this guide but its for openwart and it dont seem to be the same interface
He sent me the opvn file as well so I assumed it would work , couldnt find a guide so tried guides for PIA and a couple of others to no avail, so contacted them again and was told it didnt work yet (go figure) BUT hey that was last year
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
930
@brian0812

in the log file you uploaded it is running.
stop it using
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
then run this command
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
now run the command below
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
then run
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
see if the results are different

BTW this shouldnt be working as you do not appear to have anything in the root folder and also you should not have to use the quations arounf the ovpn file name.

can you run this command for me
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
 

brian0812

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
1,099
@brian0812

in the log file you uploaded it is running.
stop it using
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
then run this command
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
now run the command below
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
then run
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
see if the results are different

BTW this shouldnt be working as you do not appear to have anything in the root folder and also you should not have to use the quations arounf the ovpn file name.

can you run this command for me
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
thanks for your help mate i have the .ovpn file in root but the kids are now gaming so ill have to give the above a go later today after the kids are in bed
 

brian0812

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
1,099
linux does not like white spaces thats why you are getting that error.

rename the .ovpn on your pc without the white spaces and transfer it over or enter the following
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
and press the tab button that will auto complete the file name if its the only file that starts with San in that folder.

are you sure you transferred the .ovpn in to the roots home folder?

can you run this command for me.
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
[email protected]:~# ls
San.ovpn
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
930
Oh yeah i can see you do now. can you also run it without the quotes as these are not needed or at least i have never had to use them and i have set up about 5-10 openvpn servers and 50+ clients

can u run this command
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
for some reason if i post the have the minusSybmbol in a post it will not save. i mean the symbol on the right to zero.
 

brian0812

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
1,099
Linux LEDE 4.4.92 #0 Tue Oct 17 17:46:20 2017 mips GNU/Linux
 

brian0812

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
1,099
ok so after i run this command
openvpn 'San.ovpn
' i lose internet connection and i had to restore router with my backup file to get the internet back on
 
TEST
Top