• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

hard drive

wilson1980

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2006
Messages
1,670
Likes
46
#1
looking to up grade my 60gig hard drive to what ever..any good deals kicking about guys..dont really have any music or that on it..but thinkin about storin them on it for the surround sound in my livin room..
 

robc11

DW Member ++
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,830
Likes
64
#2
What size you thinking of mate, im keeping any eye out for one since the new upgrade, Ill let you know what i find. Ive already transferred 1gb for playing as the BGM, when games start to incoperate it

Best i could find so far is this here a WD 320GB 5400RPM SATA for £70.49 inc VAT. If anyone can find any better deals let me know. As i cant really see many 2.5" SATA 500gb+ that are cheap for value per GB. I mean they jump from £70 for a 320GB to about £140 for a 500GB :FRIGHT:
 
Last edited:

wilson1980

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2006
Messages
1,670
Likes
46
#3
no probs bud..if i find anything ill give ya a shout aswell..cheers for gettin back there
 

iliveinuk

DW Member ++
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
1,479
Likes
42
#4
I have not tried yet, but does the hard drive have to go back inside, are the connections long enough inside, or if its push in, can you put an extender cable in and leave the hd outside the system, i know it wont look as nice but then you have more choices of hd to look for instead of 2.5 size etc
 

robc11

DW Member ++
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,830
Likes
64
#5
Yeah its possible all you need is a cable like this


And basically any 3.5"(not 100% sure on this) sata hdd enclosure with its own power supply, then all you do is connect the hdd to the PS3 using the cable.
 
Last edited:

marra

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
4,623
Likes
80
#8
that does look a good way to go i wasnt thinking of changing mine until it was hacked but i think may now but tbh the longer it goes on im thinking it wont be able to be hacked at least until blu-ray discs come down in price
 

iliveinuk

DW Member ++
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
1,479
Likes
42
#9
Yeah its possible all you need is a cable like this


And basically any 3.5"(not 100% sure on this) sata hdd enclosure with its own power supply, then all you do is connect the hdd to the PS3 using the cable.
Hi m8,

any chance you can point me in the right direction as to where I can get one of those cables please
 

robc11

DW Member ++
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,830
Likes
64
#10
Hi m8,

any chance you can point me in the right direction as to where I can get one of those cables please
They are a nightmare to get hold of, i found one shop and its Japanese so you couldn't even order without being fluent lol. I've done some reading and you might not need that cable at all. Read here for more info on this. If you look at the thoughts bit further down it shows about using an external drive with esata enclosure. To me this means you could get a male 7-pin sata to esata cable (not sure if you can get these, cant find them anywhere) with the sata end like below and have the other end of the cable as esata
I've also found a nice 3.5" esata enclosure which would look nice sat next to a PS3 here Just thought you could use a 1Tb hdd this way :proud: if it would work.
 

iliveinuk

DW Member ++
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
1,479
Likes
42
#11
Thanks m8, great info, and yes that enclosure looks great, just getting this bleeding cable sorted I spose, I will have a look around and see what I can find.
 

M3RMy

Member +
Joined
Feb 21, 2007
Messages
143
Likes
16
#12
Ebuyer have a 320 western Digital for £61.29 inc VAT and P+P

h**p://www.ebuyer.com/product/136790/show_product_reviews