Browser Chrome: Scroll arrows gone!!

trevortron

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
My partner, who is a self-confessed Facebook addict noticed today that the up & down scroll arrows have disappeared from the Chrome browser window, and the scroll bar itself has become considerably (impossibly, even?) narrow, whereupon my services as "in-house computer expert" were called upon.
Firstly, I am no computer expert, so I did a quick 'Google', and it seems to be a widespread problem. But not universal, because my PC which is also running Chrome on W7 is still as-was!
Apparently Google came back with a lame response claiming the new way is more in keeping with other GUI's and is 'the way forward'.
I must admit, I too would find it annoying, as the alternatives (dragging skinny scroll bar or using cursor keys) aren't nearly as user-friendly for 'inching' down a long page.
Anyone else finding this?

I've got this issue. It's 'fixed' by unchecking the 'take visual styles on windows and buttons' in computer,properties,advanced system settings

A bit crap really though

I've got this issue. It's 'fixed' by unchecking the 'take visual styles on windows and buttons' in computer,properties,advanced system settings

A bit crap really though

Strange- tried it on my PC (even though it's still OK pending a Chrome update) and it looked horrible- sort of Win 98 limp-home mode look! Then tried it on the affected PC and it made no difference.
I looked into it a bit more and this was Google's pathetic attempt at justifying it:

• Windows scrollbars: Chrome Windows users will notice that the scrollbars have changed to look similar to the style of Chrome in Metro mode. The cleaner look helps make Chrome’s style more consistent across different environments.

Well thank you very much NOT- I don't want MY machine to
    look similar to the style of Chrome in Metro mode.