Chipped Wii and PAL games

billybob69

Inactive User
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
66
Reaction score
0
Hi,

I'm going to be in both Hong Kong and Bangkok next week and know that you can buy copies of Wii games dirt-cheap there.

I was planning to buy some games there and then chip my nephew's Wii on my return. But I have read on this forum that even when a UK Wii has been chipped it will only play PAL games. Is this right?

I'm guessing that the copies of the Wii games in HK are from either American or Japanese NTSC versions of the games. If they are NTSC games, is there any easy way to convert them to PAL when I return to the UK?

Thanks in advance.
 

stoned

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
78
Reaction score
4
Hi,

I'm going to be in both Hong Kong and Bangkok next week and know that you can buy copies of Wii games dirt-cheap there.

I was planning to buy some games there and then chip my nephew's Wii on my return. But I have read on this forum that even when a UK Wii has been chipped it will only play PAL games. Is this right?

I'm guessing that the copies of the Wii games in HK are from either American or Japanese NTSC versions of the games. If they are NTSC games, is there any easy way to convert them to PAL when I return to the UK?

Thanks in advance.

hi m8 ive a wii chipped from singapore and have lots of chipped games,they are all pal,but ive heard there is a prog that you enter to the wii to play ntsc games also, but i,ll stick to the pal games to be safe and its well worth getting it chipped no complaints here.
 

iliveinuk

DW Regular
Joined
Feb 7, 2007
Messages
1,480
Reaction score
56
use regionfrii to change the iso from usa or jap to pal, then use wiibrickblocker to patch the iso so that if the game has an update firmware loader on it, it wont use it, so u cant brick ur wii by updating the wrong firmware :)

I guess your going to buy copies, which you will have to read onto your pc to get the iso to use the progs i mentioned, then burn bk onto a dvd-r
 

billybob69

Inactive User
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
66
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the replies.

use regionfrii to change the iso from usa or jap to pal, then use wiibrickblocker to patch the iso so that if the game has an update firmware loader on it, it wont use it, so u cant brick ur wii by updating the wrong firmware :)

I guess your going to buy copies, which you will have to read onto your pc to get the iso to use the progs i mentioned, then burn bk onto a dvd-r

I'm guessing that there is a programme out there that will copy PAL Wii games and then burn them to disc (Unscrabblerrc or RawDump 2.0)?
If so, would it not be easier (although slightly more expensive) to hire a PAL version of a game in UK and then make a back-up of it to play on the Wii once it has been chipped?
 

carlos

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
2,495
Reaction score
179
Location
Liverpool
hello m8

why dont you just download the games your self and just burn them onto a dvd ?
 

edogg

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
4,055
Reaction score
723
you would have to make sure the wii you buy is in fact a pal version or a US ntsc as jap games are in japanese also if you get caught with copied games in the customs there could well be major problems so get a wii and download the games when you get back
 

vikwaters

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
61
Reaction score
1
Hong Kong uses PAL as its a former british colony, even uses 3 pin UK sytle plugs, most of the copies you get there will be PAL.

Go to 298 Hennessy Road in Wan Chai rather than the computer zone just as you come out of the MTR, its a bit of a walk but no problem as you will get to do lots of clothes shopping on the way at the cheap sample shops. 298 Hennessy road was the best place I found for 'dodgy' gear. The sign is quite small but once youve found it the place opens up into a little rabbit warren with loadsa shops. Don't forget to haggle!!

Another option is to go by train to Schenzen (about £10) you will need a visa which you can get at the Schenzen station (takes about 20 minutes, costs about £13), once you get out the station head right, up a small escalator and go into the BIG shopping centre there (5 floors, about 200 shops on each floor) there geezers will come n offer you all manner of fakes. This is also where you can get your suit made in 2hours (top floor). I used to buy fake ray bans and oakleys there priced at $hk 80 i used to end up buying 100 pairs at $hk8 a pair (about50p), so haggling is worthwhile ;)

Hope this helps.
 

tediboy

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Glasgow
What do i use to actually chip my wii console, as there are a lot of software out there and i dont wanna fcuk up my wii. THANKYOU GUYS
 

billybob69

Inactive User
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
66
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the replies, their very much appreciated.

why dont you just download the games your self and just burn them onto a dvd ?
I never really had much success downloading the games for the PS2, perhaps I'll have a look at it for a Wii when I get back.

source, download and sue "freeloader" works every time for me.
Will do. Thanks.

Hong Kong uses PAL as its a former british colony, even uses 3 pin UK sytle plugs, most of the copies you get there will be PAL.
Most of the Wii that I saw for sale in the 'locals' computer shops were the NTSC versions, I guess that there is a better selection of games in HK on the NTSC format.

Go to 298 Hennessy Road in Wan Chai
Yep, I know it. The guys that were selling the copied software, were highly suspicious of me at first. I guess that not many tourists know about the place! Another place is the 'Ho King Commercial Centre' on the corner of Fa Yuen Street and Soy Centre (near Mong Kok Computer Centre) - there is also a good selection of PS2 and X-box games there as well.

Another option is to go by train to Schenzen (about £10) you will need a visa which you can get at the Schenzen station (takes about 20 minutes, costs about £13), once you get out the station head right, up a small escalator and go into the BIG shopping centre there
Thanks for the heads-up, but the Chinese government have stopped the visas to the Schenzen SEZ until after the Olympics - you now have a get a visa for the whole of China now - very expensive. A bit of a pity, as I wouldn't have minded of getting a suitcase full of Dreamboxes while I was there!

BTW, I was told by one of the geezers that was doing copies of the games that once a Wii has been chipped, it will play both PAL and NTSC games. Is this right? (Or was did he mean that a chipped Wii will play copies of both formats?)
 

Messa

DW Regular
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
2,179
Reaction score
139
Location
North West Inguurlaand
Some NTSC games will play fine, some will play part way and lock up, and some will be recognised at the loading screen but will lockup when started.

It is not correct that a chipped console will play all backups.

If you are downloading only then get a NTSC console if thats all they have, if you are worried about resale or want to get games in the UK then of course get PAL.

Messa
 

Kintekke

Inactive User
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
265
Reaction score
1
Be totally honest ...avoid the ntsc games as if you get one with a usa update on it and you run it on yer wii you'll brick it....
You can run a 'brickblocker' to wipe the update but sometimes this will cause the game to be unplayable...Stick with the Pal games and you'll not go wrong..

As to playing both formats there is a compaterbility list out there that tells you what ntsc games will play on a modded pal wii.....Just for the life of me can't remember the addy lol.....but a search in the forums should find it??
 
Last edited:

billybob69

Inactive User
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
66
Reaction score
0
Just to update on this now that the Wii has been chipped (thanks Highlander) and I have had a chance to play the copy-games bought in HK and BKK.

Some NTSC games will play fine, some will play part way and lock up, and some will be recognised at the loading screen but will lockup when started.

Is, exactly what happened!
Couldn’t load Spiderman 3 at all, just kept getting an error message in Japanese!

use regionfrii to change the iso from usa or jap to pal, then use wiibrickblocker to patch the iso so that if the game has an update firmware loader on it, it wont use it, so u cant brick ur wii by updating the wrong firmware

I tried running regionfrii, but it doesn’t recognise that there is a disc in the drive / can’t find the ISO on the disc. Does regionfrii only work if you have a LG burner?
 

billybob69

Inactive User
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
66
Reaction score
0
Have you gave freeloader ago in the stickies

Thanks for the reply.

I did have a look at the Freeloader thread in the stickies, but couldn't see a file there to download?
 
TEST
Top