Boiler Problems

chris1975

VIP Member
VIP Member
Reaction score
After some advise guys before I call an engineer.

I have a Baxi 105he Combi which is approx 7years old.

Over the last couple of months it has developed a few problems.

1, Whilst running the hot water it will intermittently run cold.
2, Every so often the radiators will make a gurgling noise without the heating even being on.
3, Whilst running a shower the radiators will heat up even when the switch is turn to water only.
4, When the heating is on the boiler will intermittently go off so there is no constant heat this even happens when the room stat is on full.

The boiler is serviced yearly.

Any advice would be gratefully appreciated.

Regards
Chris

Sounds like a couple of problems to be fair not just one. I'm by no means an expert, just my own experience of the same. Servicing doesn't really check for anything other than pressure etc not operation as such. I've found them to be more of a safety check.

Gurgling is likely air in the system, try to bleed all the radiators; turn the valve at the side with a screwdriver slowly until water comes out.

Rad heatup while the water is on sounds like the diverter valve or seal has gone that controls the water flow (three positions, water, rad and both)

Boiler on/off could potentially be the spark/igniter and the boiler going off is likely to why your hot water drops to cold.

On the whole, its a plumber really. Valve seals are relatively cheap, having to replace the valve itself is not (£80+ just for the part according to the man at BG as had to replace mine last year), but I have BG's cover so cost nothing for the call out etc.

Generally (and they recommended this not me) you need a system power flush because of the age (mine is about 8 years) however this can vary from £150 private to £600 from BG)

I haven't done mine yet as I'm replacing at least two radiators, using sludge cleaner and re-applying inhibitor.