Apple TV questions

Purity

VIP Member
VIP Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm hoping you can help? I'm new to the Apple TV scene and was hoping you could answer some questions before I buy one?

I've fitted a new TV in my bedroom but there is no aerial so I intended to hookup an Apple TV via a powerline adaptor into my network ans use XBMC

My questions are:

1) Can you jailbreak all current Apple TV boxes? Do they need to be on a specific firmware, or of a specific model/generation?

2) I'd like to use XBMC. Does this version allow SMB connections to Windows shares? Can I also hook into a Windows Media Centre box or other UPNP boxes?

3) Is it possible to make a connection to a dreambox? I know this is possible on normal XBMC, so assume it would be the same?

Cheers

Hi guys,

I'm hoping you can help? I'm new to the Apple TV scene and was hoping you could answer some questions before I buy one?

I've fitted a new TV in my bedroom but there is no aerial so I intended to hookup an Apple TV via a powerline adaptor into my network ans use XBMC

My questions are:

1) Can you jailbreak all current Apple TV boxes? Do they need to be on a specific firmware, or of a specific model/generation? YES 4.4.4 I think is the latest and there is a new untethered jb

2) I'd like to use XBMC. Does this version allow SMB connections to Windows shares? Can I also hook into a Windows Media Centre box or other UPNP boxes? YES... although I think AFP works better but I have no issues with SMB shares.

3) Is it possible to make a connection to a dreambox? I know this is possible on normal XBMC, so assume it would be the same? Not sure don't have a dream box, but would very much doubt it has enough power to do that?

Cheers

Cheers chaps.

I saw the post about 4.4.4, but my question really was geared towards, am i going to have any issues when I buy a new apple tv - do i need a specific model/revision etc. If the current firmware is 4.4.4 for all then it sounds like I'm ok :)