iPhone A Bit of Advice !!

Bstard

Member +
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
169
Reaction score
0
My sons i phone 3GS crashed, locked up .....screen went blank...phone wouldn't do anything.....I can put it in restore....my question is if he connects it to his i tunes to restore will it put the old firmware on the phone ( the 1 that was on it before ) or will i tunes restore to 4.0 ??
The phone was jailbroken b4 but i am not sure what FW was on it ?
So any advice on getting the phone up and running appreciated !!!

Thanks !!
 

janobi

Janet to us
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
9,434
Reaction score
1,440
Location
Work.... Where else?
My sons i phone 3GS crashed, locked up .....screen went blank...phone wouldn't do anything.....I can put it in restore....my question is if he connects it to his i tunes to restore will it put the old firmware on the phone ( the 1 that was on it before ) or will i tunes restore to 4.0 ??
The phone was jailbroken b4 but i am not sure what FW was on it ?
So any advice on getting the phone up and running appreciated !!!

Thanks !!

Best thing to do, is download ipsw 3.1.2 and 3.1.3 and try and use those to restore it. It will tell you if you cannot be restored using either of them. If you go through itunes then yes it will update to 4.0.

To use your own ipsw, hold shift before clicking restore, then it will ask for the file, just select the 3.1.2 or 3.1.3 and take it from there.
 

biffo1

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
9,096
Reaction score
2,124
Location
Manchester
it will put os4 on your phone mate so hes the LINK for the firmware download 3.1.2 or the 3.1.3 once downloaded do as suggested by Jan , if u get stuck give me a shout ill talk you through it mate
 

Nani121

Banned
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
4,177
Reaction score
49
Location
Wouldn't you like to know?
Did you backup the SHSH blobs?

The firmware 3.1.2 or 3.1.3 won't work as its signed by apples servers so it will put on os 4.0!

If you did backup you shsh blobs then download firmware 3.1.3 and follow this

Caching Apple's Signature Server - Jay Freeman (saurik)

Assuming you backed up your blobs via cydia then it will work!

As it will talk to sauriks server rather then apples!
 

Bstard

Member +
Joined
Jul 3, 2004
Messages
169
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the replies !!
I have tried your suggestions using itunes restore and the earlier FW but I get error msg on 1 pc the other pc fails due to the itunes server being unavailable....I have tried reinstalling itunes etc
I think the problem could be what Nani is saying....i never saved the SHSH blobs......
can you save them now ? i tried following a guide and it said it can't be done now ....is this the case ?
Any other methods of getting the phone working ?
do i have to wait till 4.0 is jailbroken and unlocked ? then take that update ?

any suggestions ??
 

janobi

Janet to us
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
9,434
Reaction score
1,440
Location
Work.... Where else?
Thanks for the replies !!
I have tried your suggestions using itunes restore and the earlier FW but I get error msg on 1 pc the other pc fails due to the itunes server being unavailable....I have tried reinstalling itunes etc
I think the problem could be what Nani is saying....i never saved the SHSH blobs......
can you save them now ? i tried following a guide and it said it can't be done now ....is this the case ?
Any other methods of getting the phone working ?
do i have to wait till 4.0 is jailbroken and unlocked ? then take that update ?

any suggestions ??

If you aint got the blobs then your doomed mate. You could try snowbreeze 1.7 to jb, but its a userland jb, and will be tethered.
 
TEST
Top