why cant i connect?

krazylegz

Inactive User
Reaction score
just a bit stuck here as i'm a complete noob at wireless.

i have just got a linksys wireless router with matching notebook adapter.

i set them up with 128bit encryption. my lappy sees my connection and when i click connect it says it's connected with excellent signal. IP also gets assigned by DHCP. but when i click on mozilla it just doesnt load any pages,says it cant find server.

am i doing something wrong?

Is your laptop not still tryin to use the ethernet connection.
Try disablin it ,the try again.

may be xp firewall blocking access, turn it off then try, if yes then once connected turn it back on

ethenet port is disabled. havent got any firewall or antivirus on as just reformatted HDD.

now it's not even assigning a IP now

Use a static IP,

for example.

If your router has an IP of 192.168.0.1
and your ISP dns address are 123.123.123.1 and 123.123.123.2

Set your lappy wireless NIC to

IP 192.168.0.2
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.0.1

DNS

Primary 123.123.123.1
sec 123.123.123.2

never use DHCP, causes to much trouble
MH

I was gettin this problem once. All i did was refresh my Internet cable modem. Im on ntl so I jus unplugged the modem and refreshed it and then the internet worked on my laptop.... Hope this helps

Ensure that the wep encryption key settings on the pc match that of the router. Some wireless devices still connect to the router even if the key on the pc is wrong

Also MairyHinge's idea of setting static Ip's is good. Means you can sule out an dhcp errors

Also in your router settings ensure that it is taking th Ip address from the router

how do i assign a static ip?

i connected my lappy back with the built Nin NIC and cable straight to that. then when it was connected i copied down the ip,sub net mask,dns etc.

i then put it into the router and wireless NIC.

the link said it was connected and it sent about 400 packets but never recieved any.