DVB - PC Cards Which CAM/Card

elyl

Inactive User
Reaction score
I'm looking for recommendations for which CAM to get for my HTPC. I'm going for a dual-tuner system, so will need two CAMs.

I believe my options include:
- Blue Zeta
- IceCrypt
- Diablo

I'll need the Zeta or IceCrypt flashed with Joker 0.79, and this can be done with a CAS 3 programmer (but, I assume, not CAS 2)? I'll also need a funcard (4?) for each CAM, and I assume I program this using the same CAS 3 programmer?

I understand if I use a Diablo CAM then I can do away with the funcard, since it can emulate the card in hardware? I assume I would still need to program the Diablo though?

Can anyone point me to a step-by-step guide to programming the CAMs and cards?

TIA!

Last edited:
Assume you mean for cable? I was going to do a "Setting up a Diablo" guide, so give me a bit and I'll do one.

I'm still a noob though, but hopefully that will help the guide be as step by step as possible, but might mena it's "wrong" in places.

I'll need to check with the admins as the guide will have to go in the downloads section...

Do you really need two cams for this ?

A single card is more than capable of supplying decryption for more than one channel. Never tried it with a HTPC setup but on plain old XP i've certainly had the ability to watch one channel whilst recording another (from seperate tuner) using both a softcam and a single hardcam (ICE with Joker 0.79)

Last edited:
I think you can only use softcams with certain HTPC software - my understanding was that they don't work with MCE for example.

I assumed a softcam completely replaced a Hardware CAM, so why have a CAM at all? Is this not the case then?

You're supposed to get faster channel changes etc. out of a hardware CAM, aren't you.

I think you can only use softcams with certain HTPC software - my understanding was that they don't work with MCE for example.

Thats true I think and one of the reasons I dont use MCE.