whey protein preventing belly fat loss

pops1a

Inactive User
Reaction score
I've been taking protein for about 7-8 months now and I was wondering if it;s preventing me from losing fat from my belly. Anyone know if this might be the case or am I just getting paranoid.

You just s*it excess protein out mostly. Are you taking protein or weight gain? How many cals does it say it has on the label per scoop? What else are you doing to lose weight cardio wise? how does the rest of your diet compair? Doubt protein is the problem, but carbs and lack of cario might be.

thanks for the replies. It says 100 calories per scoop. I've been doing cardio every day for nearly 2 months and some light weights in body pump and circuit classes, other than that I've not done weights proper for about 3 months due to me being a carer for my wife, who had a stroke. I've noticed a loss of mass all over my body because of lack of weights. I have a shake after training (1 scoop whey protein from H&B, banana, 2tbs linseed with milk). I'm probably having too many carbs like potatoes, bread and rice.

Try having your carbohydrate meals earlier in the day. Don't eat anything white either, no white bread or pasta, whole (brown) everything. Sweet potatoes are lower GI than normal ones and I think they are a lot nicer, good with cottage cheese.

Bread and milk are the usual culprits of gaining weight too fast although your liver can convert excess protein into glucose, I think, and if it's not used it will be stored as fat.

Whey protein digests quite quickly and might not make you feel full for long. A morning shake with casein protein and oats in will release energy slower. Whey is better for before or after workout.

I read that fish oil is better than Flaxseed oil (Linseed) but I don't think it's something I'd drink. Walnuts have a good ratio of the Omega oils.

Watch Holland & Barrett stuff, some of it is full of sugar, that's OK post workout though.