Technomate 5402hd

pete4000uk

Inactive User
Reaction score
Newbie alert!

Hi all.

I am in the market for a new HD box and the Technomate 5402 HD was recommended as a replacement for my non HD satellite box. However, having looked into things regarding this receiver it seems that it does a LOT more than initially meets the eye. I am of course talking about watching encrypted channels at 28E through ‘card sharing’ what that sort of thing.

As a complete newbie to this sort of stuff, could someone give me a basic rundown of how it works and what needs to be done etc?

Any help appreciated!

Welcome. Here is my 2p.

Receiver choice depends what you want to do, but don't buy the Technomate.

As a basic HD receiver it's expensive compared to an Openbox S10 or similar (about £50) which also does exactly what you refer to.

As a more advanced hobbyist's or sat enthusiast's toy, unfortunately Technomate just don't cut the mustard any more.
Infrequent and poor quality software updates are the norm, you cant drive a motor properly with any software released since August 2011. Latest software freezes the picture on Sky Italy and other major providers under ccam, and as the software is closed source, there is no option but to wait for TM to release their next hatchet-job firmware.

If you want a straightforward box with cccam and HD, then go Openbox.
If you want to motorise, and do other interesting stuff like streaming, then get a Dreambox DM800 SE.

edit plenty of info here in the forum in the search feature

chopps

Last edited:
Welcome. Here is my 2p.

Receiver choice depends what you want to do, but don't buy the Technomate.

As a basic HD receiver it's expensive compared to an Openbox S10 or similar (about £50) which also does exactly what you refer to.

As a more advanced hobbyist's or sat enthusiast's toy, unfortunately Technomate just don't cut the mustard any more.