So I need some help updating

asmberkalvin

Inactive User
Reaction score
I've researched this for a while and searched all over Google but can't seem to find a solution.

So I inherited this Xbox that I didn't even know if it worked.

Get it home and hook it up low and behold it turns on. Unfortunately it only boots to an update page on the first dashboard that Xbox ever had.

Followed every official tutorial on how to update the Xbox via CD, USB, game disc, with and without the network cable plugged in. I also sat on Xbox support for an hour running through scenarios with the help desk only to not succeed.

Let me be clear, I do not get an error code nor can I access anything in the dashboard.

Can I mod/flash something to get this thing working again? I dealt with Xbox 1s a lot years ago but not much with the 360s.

Sorry if this is a total noob post, I'm very techy and don't have a problem using Google, just couldn't find an answer. Thanks guys.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

What exactly does it show on the screen, message details? Also have you tried clearing the update by holding the Sync button then powering on the console until it's fully booted? (you need to keep holding the sync button until the console is booted fully).

no, I havent tried that, I may try when I get home. all it shows when you boot it up is it will say updating for about 2 seconds then say it cannot find the disc. the only option i have at this point is to press A and make it search again, after that it fails and just says contact xbox support with no buttons lit up (no options to press anything or to go anywhere)

which button do you mean by the sync button? the controller sync button? or like the X box button in the middle of the controller?

Thanks!!!

Kalvin

Is there an error code on the screen , something like this `3F4B-0000-3080-051A-8007-0070`

There are no error codes at all. only the grayed out buttons at the bottom of the screen.