Noobs guide to setting up the "SILVERBOX"

mickymcdee

Inactive User
Reaction score
Right i am a noob still to this forum also to this clever little unit called the silverbox, but here is a step by step guide of what you will need and what you need to do in order for you to be sat down watching tv in less than 30mins.

WHAT YOU WILL NEED

1. A female to female null modem cable these are a off the shelf item in your local maplins at a hefty £4.99 lol look here> .
Or if you are ordering via ebuyer they are cheaper but make sure you get the CORRECT cable as you dont want to fook yer new box do ye?.

2. A shaver adaptor with a 3a fuse or better a bs plugtop with a 3a fuse for the psu that comes with the silver box as it has a 2 pin european plug moulded.

3.A male rf plug (normal tv aerial plug) Which your cable feed will be going into.

4.A pc/laptop with a serial com port on

5.A cup of tea

6.QCX_SLF_VER7.10_UK_up_new SOFTWARE
bundled with stblink4 program tool (this will be available to download from this forum now)

7.Connect the null modem cable up from your pc to your box nice and securely! connect power to silverbox run the stb4 link program click on set up comm button then coose port 1 which is mostly used if fails try com2 the software will now read software vers etc that is in the box now all you do to upgrade is click on upgrade software then choose your software which would be v7.10 bin file do not attempt to unplug anything whilst flashing process is going the stb box will dissappear on screen and the led on the front of the box should be flashing red/green rapidly power can now be disconnected and reapplied
thats yer software on anyway.