newbie Big help needed

Dwaine85

Inactive User
Reaction score
As the title says I a complete newbie and having awful problems so if anyone could help with my questions it be greatly appreciated

1 my box is taking my hard drive, initializing 100% and I have set up recording paths but when I try to record I get a message something like no hard drive recognised

2 I trying to flash New image without success using a usb connected external hd. Is this why it won't flash and do I need to purchase a usb flash pendrive?

As the title says I a complete newbie and having awful problems so if anyone could help with my questions it be greatly appreciated

1 my box is taking my hard drive, initializing 100% and I have set up recording paths but when I try to record I get a message something like no hard drive recognised

2 I trying to flash New image without success using a usb connected external hd. Is this why it won't flash and do I need to purchase a usb flash pendrive?

Need a bit more info mate, I assume its a solo2 you have, what image have you on it at present. Can you see the drive under Mount manager. you need a pen drive formatted to FAT32, extract image and copy to pen drive, power off box, put pen drive in front usb port, power on box, press power button on the front of the box when its says so.

Hello mate..your in the right place but As kellogs23 says we need more information.
Yes you need pen drive VU+ will not flash from a hard drive 1Gb pen drive is perfect for flashing box
Give us the Box,the image,the hard drive type size,how you have set up hard drive and connected it,and is drive showing up in settings/information.
Maybe have a read of the manual as well as may give you some handy info you need.
cheers

Last edited:

Problem with usb hard drives is they need to be powered to work effectively unpowered drives do cause problem, you would be better off using a pen drive. Its important when flashing all other usb device are removed prior to flashing.