Motorola SURFboard SB5100i

madmanuk

Member +
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
915
Reaction score
1
is this an easy one to do if you know what i meam lol cus i have almost won one from ebay.
thanks
Motorola SURFboard SB5100i
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Reaction score
0
You will need a blackcat jtag and the software to do that.
It's not to difficult.
Do you know your docsisusuususes?
docsi
docsisers
docter martins
oh are you ex Cw or not!!!
 

madmanuk

Member +
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
915
Reaction score
1
i am pure ntl mate will it work and where do i get a cable from
thanks
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Reaction score
0
Pure ntl!!
Your laughing then mate you lucky so and so.
You could make a blackcat and download the software.
I ordered it a month ago.
It arrived today.
I made the jtag and got the software three weeks ago.
There are diagrams in the downloads.
It will seem a bit confusing but it's not really.
Just somehting new?
Or if you don't wanna make it you could wait the month and get it from tcniso.
That's the first bit of software i've bought in 5 years!!
It hurt bad!
 

madmanuk

Member +
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
915
Reaction score
1
sb5100i

where can i get the cable and software from then mate. YOU lol.
Realy whats it going to cost and is the jtag/blackcat cable the same as the jtag i use for cable boxes. I have just won the SB5100i modem so now i what to get going asap.
thanks
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Reaction score
0
Make the blackcat. You can get all the bits from maplins.
Even if it takes you 2 weeks it better and you save yourself 40 odd dollers.
 
Last edited:

pj.77

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Sorry if my question is obvious but what is that rectangular box with 10 pins on it on the right hand side of that picture. lol ill never make one of these if i cant even work out what im looking at
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Reaction score
0
That reprisents the holes in your surfboard.
It's for a sb5100.
If you had one and opened it,you would realise.

The first thing i ever made was a max233 for cloning the ambits.
It took me a few goes,but got there in the end,it felt good.
I'm getting a jtag i bought off ebay which i think might do the same as the blackcat with a bit of messing,but i'll test it before i go shouting about it.

That diagagarm is a bit like the london underground map.
It has no real relation to where things really are,just where they go.

A bit like a game in a puzzle book.
Pin one goes to pin three, pin 7 goes to pin 4.
Then 4 hours later you made yourself a working blackcat!!!
But in my case it was a week later cos i was missing the 5v!!
If you got a soldering iron have a go!!
 

pj.77

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Thanks again Name . Ill be interested to see how you get on with the jtag. Im still a little perplexed 'max233 for cloning the ambits'

Im sure ill get the hang of this eventually . I just need a crash course for beginners . This 5v is obtained from a usb cable?
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Reaction score
0
Sorry mate.
I've only been on here a few months,so just hang around and you'll pick it up.
Maybe start with an ambit modem( the silver thing from ntl) and then move on from there?
 

pj.77

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
ah I understand now . this is the one i have from ntl. i presume there is a reason for the surfboard over ambit is it the reliability of future proofing (10mb)
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Reaction score
0
the futre is already here.

We are all a bit late for the ambits.
I've been on here for a few months and just when i got the hang of it .
ntl started sending firmware to mess with the clones???
Ahh not attack of the clones, but attack the clones.
They are dropping like flies and only the ambit 200 are anygood.
I had four and have unplugged them and just left them on the shelf to see if all the updating blows over.
I got a friend who only has a clone.
He gets kicked off every hour and maybe can't get back on for a few hours.
I'm sticking with my subbed(paid for) .
No-one seems to be complaining about the surfboards.
If you have an ambit and it get updated with frimware,the only way to reapir it is unsolder a tiny chip(the size of a postage stamp) called a tsop.
Then you have to use a thing called a willem programmer and delete whats on it and put old frimware on the chip.
Then solder the bloody thing back without breaking anything.
I managed it once and failed three times(those ambits are in the bin)

If by chance you had a surfboard that got updated to stop it working.
The woarst you would have to do is plug a blackcat jtag( thing that goes in your old printer port) in and spend about an hour loading stuff back onto the modem.
Some surfboards have the jtag built in and no need to open them.
If you get a cheap ambit 200 maybe try it for fun and then move on to a surfboard?
 

pj.77

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
cheers think ill wait for the right surfboard to come along
 
C

cableguy69

Guest
Forget the Ambits they're pretty much dead an buried get yaself a SB4100 or SB4200 you wont need any extra hardware just a trusty Ethernet cable an a bit of software its a piece o' p*ss really the 5100 is a bit harder but not impossible by the way guys i finally got my 5100 but i just do it for the sake of it ive also got 2 Ambit 200's & an Ambit 120 a SB4100i & now a 5100i every now an i team them using Wingate an get ridiculous speeds lol.

PS. im in TW area so my Ambits are fine as im not affected by the update but if your in a N*L area theirs serious problems with the clones.
 

g3o

Inactive User
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
629
Reaction score
4
i wonder how long it will be before TW kill all the ambits running on there network, now that NTHell owns them.
 

name750

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
843
Reaction score
0
BB you got wingate to work???
I uninstalled that shite soon after putting it on.
I followed a tut i got and done the proxy settings for explorer. I also did it for bitlord as well.
Oh yeah and done the rotate ip as well.
It did'nt make any difference and sometimes made it woarse.
Come to think of it,it could have been the ambits that were causeing the problem.
My mate gets kicked off every hour.

In a months time, i should have surfboards coming out of my ears,so i might be bending your ear.
So how many you got running and what's the fastest speed you got??
More power GRRR!
Oh yeah did you fix the sb5100 you fried
 
TEST
Top