Help with hitachi 79 drive and flashing the dvd key

Tony_Jay86

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi all.

I bought a job lot of faulty 360's, now 1 of them, has written on the bottom of the metal chassis, the make of dvd drive it should have and the model, along with f/w and the dvd key.

So i bought a hitachi gdr-3120l with rom version 0079l, which is exactly what is wrote on the 360.

Now my problem is, how do i change the dvd key on the drive when alls i have is the original dvd key wrote on the 360 and not in a .bin file.

I am totally new to 360's, ive read lots of different stuff on how to flash these drives, spoof etc, alls i want to do, is change the dvd key, i dont want to play copied games or any of that, i just basically want to marry the dvd drive to the motherboard so that it can play genuine 360 games.

Ive also read about an audio cd to put the drive into mode b as the 78-79 are different to the rest of the hitachi's. Ive not got a clue where to download this.

Iam not very good with software side of things, but i am willing to learn. I have fixed alot of iphones with error codes in the past, but please help me in plain english that is very easy to understand lol.

I have downloaded jungleflasher, but not sure on how to use it yet, as the tuts go on about extracting the dvd key from the old drive, to put on the new drive, but i only have the dvd key wrote down.

The dvd drive does play dvds and recognizes the 360 games as a dvd and not as a game.

I will be using my laptop for this. My laptop has a e-sata slot, so i have bought a sata to e-sata cable and will be powering the dvd drive from the 360.

Ive searched high and low allover the internet for a tut on how to do this, but the majority of tuts goes on about extracting the dvd key from the old drive. The other tuts is on how to change the drives boards. I dont have the original drive that is married to that motherboard.