Help rooting a HTC V ONE

CoolHandLuke

Inactive User
Reaction score
I would like to root my HTC one V and install a custom rom but I have never done it before and would like a bit advice.

(A) Check your device will not be network locked ? How do I check this

(B) Bootloader should be unlocked on your HTC One V. So unlock your HTC One V bootloader. How do I do this ?

(C) Ensure that your HTC One V is rooted with custom recovery installed, otherwise root it first according to it’s current official firmware base ? How do I do this ?

Also I see a lot of people use revoke but my phone is not on there web site list ?

(D) when you root your phone and put a custom rom on it, does it unlock the phone for any network provider.

(E) This is a contract phone still 6 month left on it so how do you back up the original firmware incase you need to send it back for repair.

Cheers for any info people the main reason I want to custom rom my phone is to debadge it and get rid of the virgin media and HTC software that eats the phone, would be nice to try differnt platforms aswell.

Also is this a good rom to try " Suprimo Custom Rom " Ive read its the best one for HTC one V although its a bit dated I see it,s nearly a year old.

Ah doesnt matter Ive read this and it suggests I cant update the phone because it's network locked.

Did your phone have any company logo on it ?
Do you purchased your phone from a mobile operator store ?
Do you got your phone under contract with any sim provider ?
Does your phone blocks when you insert another operators sim ?
Do you see mobile operators logo when you switch on/off your phone ?

If any one or more question’s answer is "YES" then it is confirmed your phone is locked with network and you need to skip normal update process . Wait for particular network firmware update ?

BOLLOX

If it's bootloader unlockable you can still flash custom ROMs, that way network updates won't matter.