Hard drive gone tits up!

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
281
I have an IDE hard drive with XP on it that has stopped booting up the pc. In the bios it recognises that it is a Maxtor 120gb drive but it will not boot up. If I remove it and connect it to another pc it again reports as a drive in the bios but in Windows it does not show up at all. Is there any way I can get data from this drive as it has a lot of info that is important on it?
 

gasman

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
5,431
Reaction score
2,178
Location
depends
Set it as slave and connect it to the other pc again then boot up and you should see the drive in My Computer. From there you can grab all the data you require.
 

ManofScience

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
4,045
Reaction score
525
if it sees the disk in the BIOS - thats a good start. Sounds like it could just be the partition info thats lost.


GetDataBack NTFS (if it was an NTFS Drive, if not use GetDataBack FAT32) will scan the whole disk and report what it's found. it will take a good few hours mind but thats normal.
 

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
281
Thanks for replys guys. I forgot to mention that the drive was reporting on boot up "smart status bad" for a while b4 it went pair shaped.

I tried using getDataBack NTFS but the programme does not see the drive unfortunately. I have also found a programme called HDD regenerator. This programme can see the drive and gave options to just scan it or scan and repair. I chose to just scan it and by the time it got up to about 200000 sectors or so (about 0.06% of the drive) the reported bad sectors number was exactly the same as the sectors scanned figure (ie EVERY sector is bad!).

The drive has my inlaws financial info on it as well as their other important stuff like photos etc that are not recoverable from anywhere else. Do you think it would be safe the click scan and repair or do you think I should take it to a PC shop to get data from it?
 

biffo1

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
9,096
Reaction score
2,124
Location
Manchester
hi mate, ive saved info doin it the hardway , if u have access to another pc take ya currpt hd and use it as a slave on the othe pc , u should see the currupt hd in the new pc then drag all the data off the currpt hd, or the program get data back should work if format the currpt hd, or just add a new hd to the pc u have , or set a partition with the currupt hd and install another version of windows again being able to drag over the stuff u need to save
 

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
281
hi mate, ive saved info doin it the hardway , if u have access to another pc take ya currpt hd and use it as a slave on the othe pc , u should see the currupt hd in the new pc then drag all the data off the currpt hd, or the program get data back should work if format the currpt hd, or just add a new hd to the pc u have , or set a partition with the currupt hd and install another version of windows again being able to drag over the stuff u need to save

Cant do that m8. The drive will not recognise at all in windows. I've already got it running as a slave in my pc. The drive will only show up in bios.
 

ManofScience

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
4,045
Reaction score
525
Cant do that m8. The drive will not recognise at all in windows. I've already got it running as a slave in my pc. The drive will only show up in bios.

you mean it hasn't mapped a drive but if the BIOS sees it, windows should see something.

if you right click on my computer and select 'Manage' - then scroll down to 'Disk Management' - it'll probably be there but with no partition/boot sector so it might be listed as 'raw' or 'foreign'
 

parker13

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
1,436
Reaction score
150
I would use spinrite, should be easily downloadable, if not let me know and I will get it to you, burn it to cd, boot up with it in the cd/dvd drive, select the faulty hdd, (connected as a slave drive, make sure the jumpers are correctly selected) and choose option 2, if this won't cure the hdd's problems the only thing you can do is send it to a professional data recovery business, not as expensive as it used to be, before that, if running xp I would over write the drive, boot from the xp disc, choose the second repair option and let it do it's thing.
 

Mark_The_Yid

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
3,587
Reaction score
281
Thanks for all the ideas guys. Have tried them all but no joy. Looking into it further it seems it has the "click of death".

YouTube - clicking drive

I guess I'm gonna have to find a data recovery company to get it from the drive.
 
TEST
Top