firefox running very slow

edogg

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
4,055
Reaction score
723
I had this problem for some time I had done various spyware antivirus scans with malware bytes comodo avg8.5
In desperation although with second thoughts it should have been my first port of call I contacted firefox support and this was their response

"Morbus" has posted a reply to a thread you're watching.
You can view the thread and reply at the following URL:

https://support.mozilla.com/en-US/forum/1/702217#threadId702925

Message:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello (name deleted)

Have you actually tried to run Firefox in safe mode, as I said? There's a small button, when you start, that will disable all add-ons easily.

If that doesn't work, can you please create a new temporary Firefox profile ([http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Managing+profiles|managing profiles]) and see if the issue persists in the new profile? If it doesn't, report back. If it does, scan your computer for malware.

===__Scan for malware__===
Install, update and run these programs ===in this order===. They are all free for personal use, but some have limited functionality in the "free mode", but those are features you really don't need to find and remove the problem that you have. (===__Not all programs detect the same Malware.__===)

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware - Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware: Malwarebytes
SuperAntispyware - SUPERAntiSpyware.com | Remove Malware | Remove Spyware - AntiMalware, AntiSpyware, AntiAdware!
AdAware - http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/
Spybot Search & Destroy - The home of Spybot-S&D!
Windows Defender - Windows Defender: Home Page
Dr. Web Cureit - Dr.Web CureIt! — Ñкачать Ð°Ð½Ñ‚Ð¸Ð²Ð¸Ñ€ÑƒÑ Ð±ÐµÑплатно! Лечение вируÑов, Лучший беÑплатный антивируÑ!

If these don't find it or can't clear it, post in one of these forums for specialized malware removal help:
Spyware Warrior :: Index
AumHa Forums
http://www.spywareinfoforum.com/
Bleeping Computer - Computer Help and Discussion

In any case, if you are using another browser out of spite or because you can't fix your problem with Firefox, I will remind you that Mozilla is a non-profit, public service organization, and, as such, doesn't have the same financial interests Google (or any other company developing a major web browser) does. Mozilla's objective is that ''you'', the user, use the browser ''you want'', be if Firefox or any other browser. If you want to use Firefox but can't, due to a problem, I'm glad to work with you the best I know and can to fix it. If you actually want to use another browser, then I'm happy that you finally found your "home", and my job is successfully done.

Did this response solve your problem with Firefox?

Yes, this solved my problem (click here):
https://support.mozilla.com/tiki-fe...edback=Firefox Support Forum&commentId=702925
No, this did not solve my problem (click here):
https://support.mozilla.com/en-US/forum/1/702217?hash=26ce2696fc4407f6032e9bad924afce7#form
----------------------------------------------------------------------

If you no longer wish to receive notifications for this thread,
visit the following URL to cancel your subscription:

https://support.mozilla.com/tiki-ca...n=forum&hash=26ce2696fc4407f6032e9bad924afce7


after doing all of this firefox now flies ff itself had infected java files and key loggers imbedded
they helpers were very fast in responding and patient with me
so if you have trouble with ff i recommend ff support forum

edogg
 

mattchris

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
191
Reaction score
2
Try this:

Firefox pages runs faster by allowing multiple connections so it can download more than one file at a time.
Here’s something that will really speed Firefox up:

1.Type “about:config” into the address bar and hit return. Scroll down and look for the following entries:

network.http.pipelining network.http.proxy.pipelining network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once, which really speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows:

Set “network.http.pipelining” to “true”

Set “network.http.proxy.pipelining” to “true”

Set “network.http.pipelining.maxrequests” to some number like 30. This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name it “nglayout.initialpaint.delay” and set its value to “0″. This value is the amount of time the browser waits before it acts on information it receives.

You’ll load pages MUCH faster now
 
Last edited:

edogg

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
4,055
Reaction score
723
https://www.digitalworldz.co.uk/index.php?threads/37563/

check out stickys on this site was posted some years ago 2005

hi yes i had already done all of that but it did nothing for my problem which was after selecting an option on a web page firefox did nothing for 33 seconds (this was timed with a stop watch and was consistent)

and if you read my post you will see that the probelm was embedded key loggers and corrupted jarva files inside firefox so no tweaking of outdated firefox config files is going to cure that

edogg
 
Last edited by a moderator:

hatab

VIP Member
VIP Member
Premium Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2001
Messages
6,273
Reaction score
538
Location
UK
@edogg i was actually replying to #2 post as his recomendation was word for word from the sticky.

i did read your post, did you run all malware progs or just a selection ?
i run malwarebytes all the time and occationally search & destroy as a backup (every 2 weeks).

the tweeks although "outdated" as you say are still valid and do improve page loading
 

edogg

Inactive User
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
4,055
Reaction score
723
Hi Hatab yes I ran all the suggestions although I also run malwarebytes with search+ destroy.I didn't mean that the tweaks were outdated but my version of firefox was and now firefox is as fast as It ever was

edogg


Sent from my HTC Hero using Tapatalk
 
TEST
Top