error: you're a noob, go away! (cable modem)

fluffey

Inactive User
Reaction score
while trying to mod my modem i got the error in the title...,

ok, not really but it feels like it, this is my first time modding a modem and i have lots of questions i can't find answers to, so please post an answer or a link where i can find the answer, thank you

i have a sb5101, successfully flashed with fercsa's infinite firmware,
i can http and telnet to the modem, and i'm on comcast (usa):

QUESTIONS:

1) why does the http info page give me a different mac than "arp -a 192.168.100.1" command, which one can cable company see, and how do i change the mac that is returned by arp -a command (i know how to change the one that's displayed on the info page, it's not a usb mac)?

2)i would like to use Ambit config to configure my modem but there is an option called "AREA" and all the sub-options start with UK or manual, which settings do i need to use for comcast usa ?

3) i can use a unregistered mac on comcast as long as i manually upload the config file and use a non-comcast dns server, is this right or wrong?

4)is there any way i can change the vendor_name so it doesn't return Infinite? what does original sb5101 firmware return as vendor_name?

5) is there a list of recommended settings i SHOULD change before getting online? to be more safe etc.
(i already know of max_dload_tries 0, docsDevSerialNumber, view_v1v2 Noaccess and telnet_ipstacks 2)

5.1) when i try to set view_v1v2 Noaccess i get:

"WARNING: This will be applied to all 2 registered instances!
Do you really want to do this? [no]

CM/SNMP>" problem is that it automatically sets No for the answer and doesn't change anything.
how can i change this?

6) can i scan for macs/configs with my modded modem which is not online yet or do i need to scan with a modem that is already online?

7) i'm sure comcast can see who is scanning for configs/macs so it's unwise to scan with the modem you have an account for. right or wrong?