Cardsharing with Proxy Server?

sob1467

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
North West Ireland
Is it possible to receive the encryption details from a server when you (the client) are using a proxy ip address.

I only have mobile broadband and would be using a laptop as a router and I would be running the broadband through a proxy server. Does anyone know would this work?
 

Joe1989

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,285
Reaction score
101
Location
Renfrew
You usage with mobile broadband will go though the roof with a cardshare server
 

sob1467

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
North West Ireland
You usage with mobile broadband will go though the roof with a cardshare server


No I'm ok because I have recently upgraded to an unlimited package and I do not want to be a server I want to be a client and get the encryption details of a server.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
106
Location
Who knows !
I suspect CS over any mobile system would suffer from high latency which would likely translate to excessively glitchy pictures.

Ping times on mobile networks can go up from the normal 50-200mS to 1-2 seconds !
 

sob1467

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
North West Ireland
I suspect CS over any mobile system would suffer from high latency which would likely translate to excessively glitchy pictures.

Ping times on mobile networks can go up from the normal 50-200mS to 1-2 seconds !

Thanks for your reply. I cannot get dsl broadband in my area. Do you think there is no point in buying a dm 500 to cs if I am only going to be using mobile broadband?
 

sob1467

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
North West Ireland
have you no fixed wireless operators in you aera?

No unfortunately its either mobile broadband or satellite broadband (which costs €800 to set up) until a time that the almost bankrupt Irish government are prepared to give my area dsl broadband.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
106
Location
Who knows !
Best bet would be to borrow a box for a few days and try out the mobile connection to see what you get. It may work fine or it may be crap. It all depends how busy your local mobile mast is and how your mobile provider injects data traffic onto the internet (some of them have remarkably low bandwidth to support thousands of users - mobile phones users usually dont require that much bandwidth).

Apart from trying it out I think your stuck !

Sat internet is pretty unsuitable for CS applications (or any real time application for that matter) due to the time taken for the sgnal to make the round trip to the sat and back. Ping times are often >2 secs, even worse than mobile !

Being as CS requires very little data, could you not use standard dialup ?
A 56k or even 33.3k diallup modem could probably handle simple CS faster and less problematically than mobile or sat.
 

sob1467

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
North West Ireland
pm me your location there has to be another option

No I've tried the lot satellite, dsl, wireless and broadband in the box. I have also contacted the following providers 3,BT, Chorus, Clearwire, Eircom, Imagine, Irish Broadband, Meteor, NTL, O2, Smart, UPC, UTV and Vodafone over the last few months.

But there might be hope yet because Imagine are launching a new 4g network around Letterkenny (which is only around 8miles from me) and they say I should be able to receive the signal for it.
 

sob1467

Inactive User
Joined
Jul 22, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
North West Ireland
have you tried digi-web or ripplecom?

Thanks for the company names glic83 but the nearest ripplecom area to me is in Galway which is much too far away and I am not eligible to receive digiwebs mobile broadband as they do not cover my area and as for the Satellite Broadband that costs €590 to set up which I cannot afford at the minute.
 

nozzer

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
6,662
Reaction score
106
Location
Who knows !
yes, its possible BUT whatever proxy you use musn't cause excessive delay to the data. Most free proxies are too slow/unreliable for this kind of stuff.

Your only real way to see if it will work in your particular circumstances are to try it out and see what happens. For mobile connections etc it really is suck it and see because of the sheer number of different variables that can affect the outcome - normally, I would never recommend any mobile type connection for CS - just too unreliable but if you have nothing else then you've really got to try it !!!
 
TEST
Top