Alternative to Grabit

fitzybhoy

Inactive User
Reaction score
Apologies if posted in wrong section.

I've been using Grabit for a few years as it is easy to use and handles all my nzb needs. However since installing win 7 I've found that it is pretty unstable with glitches, stalls and crashes.

Looking for an alternative, something simple to use and most importantly stable.

i use a program called newsleecher mate..

very easy to use and stable, im using it on win7 with no problems...

have a look in applications it might be in there..

Just about everyone I know now uses sabnzbd. Its open source (i.e. free) and web based so you can do everything remotely as well including apps to manage it from iphone, android, etc

As with most readers will only download PAR if required.

It can hook into nzbmatrix and newzbin so you can trigger downloads without having to mess with nzb files (great when you are at work) and understand tags so downloads are sorted including TV downloads by show and then season. It also has loads of plug-ins, for example ones to monitor and auto-download TV shows.

SABnzbd.org : Home of SABnzbd+, the Full-Auto Newsreader

Its only weak point is that it does not work with headers.

Just about everyone I know now uses sabnzbd. Its open source (i.e. free) and web based so you can do everything remotely as well including apps to manage it from iphone, android, etc

As with most readers will only download PAR if required.

It can hook into nzbmatrix and newzbin so you can trigger downloads without having to mess with nzb files (great when you are at work) and understand tags so downloads are sorted including TV downloads by show and then season. It also has loads of plug-ins, for example ones to monitor and auto-download TV shows.

SABnzbd.org : Home of SABnzbd+, the Full-Auto Newsreader

Its only weak point is that it does not work with headers.

thanks oneman, nice post.. looks very interesting.