what's my options???

Mubz

Inactive User
Reaction score
I’m new to sat nav land as I’m/was a good old fashion map man,
The problem is I’m wasting to much time trying to find places (I’m self employed so time is money) so I think it’s time to take the plunge…

I’m looking for a decent sat nav for around £120, nothing to big as I really hate having things on my dash (would really prefer one that has a flip out front on a head unit but can’t really afford that type)
The main requirement is it needs to have the safety cameras feature. Also traffic and accident avoidance would be well handy, Europe maps would be good but no a necessity..

I prefer Garmin as I used them on my boat, but if there’s something better out there I’ll get that instead.
I was looking at the Garmin Nüvi® 255, any thoughts on that? also quite like the look of the Garmin Nüvi® 270, a little more expensive tho.

And what about hacking these beasties to get more free stuff, what's the deal on that

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Last edited:
all the views and no opinions...

come on guys, gimmi a little help :(

TOM TOM simple easy to mod your self and update cameras and maps very easy.

I need one my self as I have a shite sont nav u which is a headache I cant find a hack to put cameras on id

Take a look here at this cheap one posted in the bargain section.Its not bad for the price plus you can put Tomtom software on an sd card and run it off that, meaning you could add voices/cams just like a real tomtom, i think lol. But you definitely want a Tomtom as they are so easy to customize.

Last edited by a moderator:
nice on guys, :)
so ya recon Tom Tom is the way forward then...
any recommendations on models?

I have a tomtom 520, recently bought from Halfords if you reserve online and pickup in store it is only £159.99. has wide screen and takes SD card upto 2gb to store mp3's and photos on. also has hands free bluetooth which is great......