TalkTalk termination fees

darren221980

VIP Member
VIP Member
Reaction score
Evening all,

I've been a Happy TalkTalk residential customer with phone and broadband since June 2011 and my current contract is due to expire in June this year.

I had heard of others having poor customer service but not encountered this until this evening, absolutely fuming to be honest!

Anyway On the 29th of March i called TalkTalk customer service to see if i could get my residential line transferred to a business line. The reason for this is so that i can have a static ip address which they don't supply to residential customers. The static ip is needed so my partner can work from home and connect through her works firewalls. I was happy with the monthly fee etc, however wasn't prepared to pay a termination fee for my contract when i'm not technically leaving TalkTalk so told them that i would keep my residential line until the contract ended and ended the call. Shortly after that call i was called back by TalkTalk and told that they could waive the termination fee so i agreed to move to TalkTalk Business. I was given an order number and told that i would get my go live date soon and a new router posted out to me.

I thought nothing of this again until Friday 13th April, when i called TalkTalk Business up to see what was going on with my order. It turns out the order number given to me hadn't even been submitted and they had no record of me even placing an order. So i then had to re-order again, managed to get the same deal and was told again i wouldn't have to pay a termination fee for ending my contract early as i'm not moving my services to another company.