Page 1 of 5 123 ... Last
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    DW Cash
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    Guys

    I've been using various bits of software to try to upload an updated FW to my skybox F5, but the USB and LAN methods come up with a file mismatch error.

    I've read that this could be the fw not allowing for USB updates on this box. Has anyone else seen this?

    I'm now looking at the serial upload, but the software i'm using (from the skybox.cc site) always stops at the synchronising stbs message.

    If there are any skybox gurus out there, i'd love to hear some advice.

    Cheers!!



  2. #2
    manic01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Gone to the pub!
    Posts
    8,112
    DW Cash
    2,123
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    19
    Uploads
    106
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    There is sw to allow usb upload.
    "I've not seen someone taking a beating like that, since someone put a
    banana down my pants and set a wild monkey loose.."

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    DW Cash
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    Quote Originally Posted by manic01 View Post
    There is sw to allow usb upload.
    Yes I know. It errors with file mismatch!

  4. #4
    manic01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Gone to the pub!
    Posts
    8,112
    DW Cash
    2,123
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    19
    Uploads
    106
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    ome firmwares block the usb upgrades to avoid future damage of the receiver if wrong firmware is loaded.

    If message "upgrade file is mismatch" appears when trying to update firmware, it means usb upgrades are disabled.

    Use this image by serial so you are able to use function again

    Search for file.
    File Type: zip HDS9-yw-1201.zip (1.37 MB
    "I've not seen someone taking a beating like that, since someone put a
    banana down my pants and set a wild monkey loose.."

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    DW Cash
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    Cheers manic01, sounds just like what i'm getting.

    What software do you recommend I use to upload via serial? The one I tried so far just sat trying to connect forever :/

    The com works ok, I just tested it on my BM7000.

    I tried lowering the Brate too but didn't seem to help.

    Appreciate the advice.

  6. #6
    mahrkpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    328
    DW Cash
    49
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    30
    Uploads
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    From another forum but instruction are good

    1. Connect up your PC to the Openbox
    using a null modem serial cable.
    2. Switch the box OFF
    3. Run EromUpgrade.exe then check the
    com port setting is correct
    4. Select the firmware .abs file.
    5. Select "next" then switch ON the box
    and follow the instructions to load
    and flash burn the firmware.
    6. If the process does not start, try
    various time combinations of switching
    the box ON after selecting "next"
    7. Don't switch the power off or disconnect
    while the download & flash is taking place.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    DW Cash
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    Quote Originally Posted by mahrkpat View Post
    From another forum but instruction are good

    1. Connect up your PC to the Openbox
    using a null modem serial cable.
    2. Switch the box OFF
    3. Run EromUpgrade.exe then check the
    com port setting is correct
    4. Select the firmware .abs file.
    5. Select "next" then switch ON the box
    and follow the instructions to load
    and flash burn the firmware.
    6. If the process does not start, try
    various time combinations of switching
    the box ON after selecting "next"
    7. Don't switch the power off or disconnect
    while the download & flash is taking place.
    Cheers fella. What software do you recommend?. The sjybox.cc site one didn't seem to work for me. Maybe i'll try it again from scratch with the various switching off and rebooting efforts.

  8. #8
    mahrkpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    328
    DW Cash
    49
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    30
    Uploads
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    I was looking at the site too but I don't see a rs232 null modem upgrade tool for F5 I know they can use same firmware but I don't if the upgrade tool can be used someone know any different?

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    12
    DW Cash
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    still no joy then tayta

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    DW Cash
    25
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: SkyBox F5 and Updating the FW

    Quote Originally Posted by sb18180 View Post
    still no joy then tayta
    Nah. The website has an RS232 tool but it doesn't specifically say its F5 compliant. In any case, it isn't working for me. The box doesn't seem to make the software respond when its waiting for the STBs sync.

    Oddly, the box just sits there with a black front display when its at this stage. If I cancel on the software side....then the box fires up. So there must be *some* kind of communication between them to make the box wait before boot. But the software itself just sits waiting and waiting.

    So..I just wondered if anyone else had upgraded their F5 via the serial method and what software they had used.



Page 1 of 5 123 ... Last

Similar Threads

  1. skybox f3
    By robbbin12 in forum Openbox HD Receiver
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 26th June 2013, 09:50
  2. Skybox F3 - Problems updating Channel lists
    By Lee Traynor in forum Openbox HD Receiver
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 28th March 2013, 13:57
  3. skybox f3
    By Crutches100 in forum Openbox HD Receiver
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 28th January 2013, 13:54
  4. skybox f3
    By bigknutts in forum Openbox HD Receiver
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th September 2012, 20:29
  5. Auto Updating Funcard 5 / Prussian 3 still not updating?
    By cric2k in forum General Cable Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st February 2006, 22:43

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in