returning unmodded 360 to MS for repair - drive broke - but claiming RROD?

Midnight Tboy

Inactive User
Reaction score
Heylos,

okies so I'm not a newbie when it comes to 360 itself as I've modded a few 78s and older.

Anyways...... eons back my mate bought a 360 a few months after launch, before I bought and flashed my first one.

He refused to get his 360 flashed cos a) it might break and was under warranty, and b) he might lose his gamerscore(!) YES I know!! I did have to tell him time and time again the account wouldnt be banned :)

Anyways, a few month back his dvd drive packed in....lol...after all the times I told him "look if you get it hacked, after x games you could buy a new 360 anyways IF it did get banned to continue his precious gamerscore"

Told him to call up MS and claim it was red ringing out after an hour or so, and to return it, but he's just too lazy to call them up so he just went out and bought another one. I've known a few ppl to send off 360s hacked or not, and often they seem to have had new drives swapped out too in the note

Several months later and pestering him to get it replaced he's still never bothered and its virtually been a doorstop ever since. Jokingly offered him 20quid for it and he said yes.....

Sooooooo......I've never actually called MS up myself.....but have heard you can alternatively do it online too :)

Has anyone here sent a box back to MS, claiming its ringing out when its not? I know theres a shop up in middlesbrough who are a bit dodgy, who will force a red ring and charge about a tenner or so for doing so, but bit reluctant to open it up seeing as its unmodded, and could prob find out how to force it myself. (was thinking trying to towel trick it into submission :)