Hotbird 13E transponders missing in London with openbox s12

shevino7

Inactive User
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a newbie so please feel free to tell me off if I am posting this in the wrong place.

I have the following problem:
A professional technician installed a 60cm dish fully dedicated to Hotbird 13.0 E and a quad LNB on my rooftop in London.
The LNB has 2 feeds and I have connected them to 2 Openbox s12 in my two rooms.

In March when it was installed despite a signal strength of about 90% the signal quality (SNR) was fluctuating in the mid 50% zone on the HD channels like the Italian sport and movie ones.
Despite this I have been able to watch all of the HD channels until last week.
Now despite attempting millions of blind scans certain transponders always give out the message FAIL and I get no signal if I add them manually.
Unsurprisingly these transponders largely correspond to the HD sport and movie channels, i.e. transponder 11996 V, which is a dvb-s2 8psk is totally dead.
All of the SD channels have always worked well and keep working well, with SNRs in the mid 70%.

It is also worth mentioning that with the other dish (standard S*Y UK) all live transponders work flawlessly giving me an SNR in the mid 70% for both HD and SD channels.

I am really stuck, I do not understand what the issue may be.
Is it the dish being too small? But then why mostly HD channels are missing whereas SD ones work well, plus 60cm for just Hotbird should be fine.
Is it to do with the Vertical vs Horiz polarization openbox issue? But then why no such problem on the s*y lnb, and also I miss some horizontal transponders as well.
Is it to do with the openbox tuner not being sensitive enough? But again, it works well with S*y Uk, although Astra does give a much stronger signal in the UK.
Why has it just started to happen? Have Italian channels changed transponder recently?

Any sort of help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance
Shevino

Hi shevino7,