Zgemma and OpenVPN

dar1437

Worldz Biggest Oddball
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
2,590
if ye try with the .ovpn file and pasword file i gave ye it will work as it worked for me and ye should be able to confirm using the command below that your external ip has changed.
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
ye can also try to ping 8.8.8.8 and if ye get a response yer VPN is working
When i ping 8888, i get this:
[email protected]:~# ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=0 ttl=56 time=19.031 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=1 ttl=56 time=15.074 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=2 ttl=56 time=20.215 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=3 ttl=56 time=16.494 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=4 ttl=56 time=15.141 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=5 ttl=56 time=20.250 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=6 ttl=56 time=15.975 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=7 ttl=56 time=14.653 ms

and it just keeps going. Is that correct lol. When i ping it on my laptop, it sends and recieves/ times 4 packets only, then finishes.
 

premprop51

DW F1 champion 2011
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
998
I'm getting the same, just not sure why it's not connecting to network? Must be the reason why no iptv is working tho! ...hopefully just be a setting on zgemma
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
968
I'm getting the same, just not sure why it's not connecting to network? Must be the reason why no iptv is working tho! ...hopefully just be a setting on zgemma
dont worry about that has nothing to do with it. i get the same error because i have a static IP.

your channels probably arent working cuz you will have to say it to your IPTV provider that you are going to be using a vpn.
 

premprop51

DW F1 champion 2011
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
998
sorted alan, ill let my provider know and take it from there,

thanks very much for all your help mate....id be up shit creek without u.....if I could buy u a few pints I would;)
 

river4ever

river4ever
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
1,410
I had problems setting up PIA with ipab. I can comfirm as ive just done it again on a zgemma i55 and had it up and going within 5 mins.
It is a clean image from OpenATV site and it is 6.1.
The files that i uploaded put them FOUR files into a folder called openvpn

Now make sure you install ovenvpn on zgemma before you FTP anything over.
When you FTP the openvpn folder to etc open the openvpn folder “within” filezilla. Now go to the folder named password. Edit the password to the one that is given to you when you login PIA.
Save it. Filezilla will show this being edited.
After that reboot zgemma. Go to openvpn within zgemma. Set for auto start then reboot.
Then when it reboots go to openvpn again and it should be running if not press start.

I have just done this on zgemma i55 with clean flash of OpenATV 6.1.
Although i see problems with some running a VPN i am yet to understand how it is an issue running “PIA” on enigma2. There is a member that has folded in half to help others in this thread.
But if you run ipab or old image i experienced the same problems.
I am yet to have an issue with the above quote.
I do not see the reason for CMDs as its as simple as FTP.
I do take my hat of to @alankellyeire for the serious input.
But why is it not as easy as FTP to “etc” with config files?

This is refference to OpenATV 6.1
(Running PIA vpn)

Have i missed something folks??
(Honestly)
 
Last edited:

premprop51

DW F1 champion 2011
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
998
Although i see problems with some running a VPN i am yet to understand how it is an issue running “PIA” on enigma2. There is a member that has folded in half to help others in this thread.
But if you run ipab or old image i experienced the same problems.
I am yet to have an issue with the above quote.
I do not see the reason for CMDs as its as simple as FTP.
I do take my hat of to @alankellyeire for the serious input.
But why is it not as easy as FTP to “etc” with config files?

This is refference to OpenATV 6.1
(Running PIA vpn)

Have i missed something folks??
(Honestly)
mate once explained its very simple....but for a clown like me who was trying to run a different vpn from what was being told it was a nightmare :oops:,
ive eventually got the vpn running but somethings still being a pain in the a**e, I can get my iptv working great with no vpn but as soon as I connect vpn it cuts my network off and wont work,its also making my box that slow its nearly unusable it must clearly be an issue with my virgin superhub.

I'm not giving up tho, snowed in today and I WILL get it working.
 
Last edited:

jfish

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
2,815
When i ping 8888, i get this:
[email protected]:~# ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=0 ttl=56 time=19.031 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=1 ttl=56 time=15.074 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=2 ttl=56 time=20.215 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=3 ttl=56 time=16.494 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=4 ttl=56 time=15.141 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=5 ttl=56 time=20.250 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=6 ttl=56 time=15.975 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: seq=7 ttl=56 time=14.653 ms

and it just keeps going. Is that correct lol. When i ping it on my laptop, it sends and recieves/ times 4 packets only, then finishes.
yes windows only sends 4 ICMP out where as Linux (which is what the box is running) sends it out until you cancel it by pressing CTRL+C
 

dar1437

Worldz Biggest Oddball
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
2,590
Well I've fixed my clock time, and sorted my boquets/ epg :)

Setup/ system/ times settings (obviously lol)

I'll wait until i need the VPN before contacting provider. I was just preemptively getting prepared for the inevitable. :)
 

Grimeire

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
968
in case anyone gets the error below that others in this thread were getting here is how to fix it.
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
FIX
run the following commands from command line
Code:
You don't have permission to view the code content. Log in or register now.
try the ovpn file now and it should work as i had the same error on an openvix 5.1.29 build and it worked after entering the previous commands
 

laurenceM

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
7
from the look of things,have seen that no one has never successefuly use free open vpn in linux boxes,any way it is wealth trying.
 

ketmp

Satellite Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,495
I successfully use openvpn on my linux box
 
TEST
Top