Your setups

Jackel

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,510
Reaction score
72
Location
NorthWest
Evening guys what are your set ups for this freesat then so as to view in HD, ie size of dish, cost, receiver make, and prices plus any other things i may require lnb etc etc.
definitely looking into going down this road cheers .
 

dave_c

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2005
Messages
2,537
Reaction score
145
Location
northamptonshire
im using , humax foxsat hd box £150 , old sly 60cm mesh dish prob get them for bout £10 , universal twin lnb ( hdtv dvb s2 compliant ) £12 , single will do £6 , then just coax and couple of f plugs .
 

cg010169

DW Regular
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
2,848
Reaction score
88
Location
Deathstar
Humax HD box was £145 as they matched the price with Dixons online.
Got the dish from ebay a Sky/ Freesat MINI DISH AND QUAD LNB.FULL INSTALL KIT for £34 including deivery well worth it.
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,829
Reaction score
12,510
Humax Foxsat for me too ... best option in my opinion as it has automatic maual scan for other channels

HD is fantastic on this box and now all bugs seem to have been fixed blinding box

ITV are now showing a lot more in HD,last night for instance ITV had Superhuman Worlds Smallest People and the film Unleashed both in HD :)


best £150 Ive spent
 
Last edited:

glic83

DW Regular
Joined
May 28, 2007
Messages
1,970
Reaction score
41
Location
cork,Ireland
have to say rat you are really after geting into the sat scene in the last few months your always 1st in with the news on freesat
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rat

Curly

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 31, 2007
Messages
3,734
Reaction score
116
Location
In between Bro and Mairyhinge. Hold that thought..
If you're thinking of spending £150 on the reciever, depending on your budget of course, consider a TM6900HD as you'll get all the freesat chanels (after doing a scan) plus more besides.

I also watched supernatural last night in glorious HD :proud:
Interesting to flick between the SD and HD chanels and notice the difference.

Curly
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,829
Reaction score
12,510
have to say rat you are really after geting into the sat scene in the last few months your always 1st in with the news on freesat

thanks m8 :)

I often think if anyone benifits from the freesat stuff I post

thanks for the post m8 as now I know its worth it ;)
 

Jackel

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,510
Reaction score
72
Location
NorthWest
If you're thinking of spending £150 on the reciever, depending on your budget of course, consider a TM6900HD as you'll get all the freesat chanels (after doing a scan) plus more besides.

I also watched supernatural last night in glorious HD :proud:
Interesting to flick between the SD and HD chanels and notice the difference.

Curly

Not seen these anywhere Curly for that Money ant pointers mate also what about size of dish etc cheers.
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,829
Reaction score
12,510
a stadard dish the same as sky uses is all you need for freesat

most other recivers will not give you freesat EPG
if all you want is freesat + the option to scan for all other FTA channels broadcast on astra and eurobird1 then go for an offical freesat box (Humax)

check this sticky for channels from a Humax freesat box
 
Last edited by a moderator:

glic83

DW Regular
Joined
May 28, 2007
Messages
1,970
Reaction score
41
Location
cork,Ireland
thanks m8 :)

I often think if anyone benifits from the freesat stuff I post

thanks for the post m8 as now I know its worth it ;)


no hassle mate we dont really see you as much round the dreambox section but its great to see someone putting in the effort you are around the freesat scene just ahve to wait till i get home in october to set up my 1m motorised dish and 500s should be fum
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,829
Reaction score
12,510
I still poke my nose in the dreambox section m8 :) but a few you guys seem to have things covered in there ;)
 

Jackel

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,510
Reaction score
72
Location
NorthWest
a stadard dish the same as sky uses is all you need for freesat

most other recivers will not give you freesat EPG
if all you want is freesat + the option to scan for all other FTA channels broadcast on astra and eurobird1 then go for an offical freesat box (Humax)

check this sticky for channels from a Humax freesat box

Yes cheers Rat to be honest im a bit unsure at the minute. but i want to get the most out of my money and if the TM means more channels not necessarily HD but whatever and Hd channels as well then i think i would opt for that. But saying that again i have seen the list of channels you have put up in the stickies , would there be many more through the TM receiver as oppose to the Humax? complete novice here lol.

To be honest i was just going to start out with a 500s to get me started on the sat scene, but after seeing some of the HD snaps you posted this has wetted my appetite more for HD material.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,829
Reaction score
12,510
Im sure the TM receiver is capable of a lot more m8 but Im not up (like yourself) on the other side of Multi Sat

I am just enjoying freesat (HD) at present :)

Im sure one of the sat guys will put you right though
 

robc11

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,830
Reaction score
82
Location
Stockton
thanks m8 :)

I often think if anyone benifits from the freesat stuff I post

thanks for the post m8 as now I know its worth it ;)

You have got me interested in Freesat with all your posts Rat mate, I think you may have converted me from cable lol. Is there many HD broadcasts available on Cable with a HD receiver obviously?
 

Rat

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
41,829
Reaction score
12,510
Thanks Rob
as far as Im aware its just BBCHD on cable with a couple of VOD programmes
I remember reading \/irgin have said they have no real plans for moving forward with HD
 

Jackel

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,510
Reaction score
72
Location
NorthWest
Yes you are right Rat this is one of the reasons i am making the transition from Cable to Sat i think Vermin need to keep up or they will end up losing out. I believe they are concentrating on the BB speeds.
 

robc11

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,830
Reaction score
82
Location
Stockton
Oh well it looks like once i eventually get my own place, i may take the plunge into Satellite, i was already looking at doing so and now i have more reason. Just got to decide whether its Freesat or normal satellite. :Cheers:
 

Jackel

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,510
Reaction score
72
Location
NorthWest
I believe you can have both with one of these sat HD receivers TM 6900 or DM 800 bit pricey mind.
 

robc11

Inactive User
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,830
Reaction score
82
Location
Stockton
I believe you can have both with one of these sat HD receivers TM 6900 or DM 800 bit pricey mind.

Ive quite fancied a DM800 tbh, but like you say its the cost. I think ill stick with my Eurovox upscalled through my dvd recorder for the minute :proud:
 
TEST
Top