WTD: Dreambox 500s fixer

ish_e

DW Member +
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
376
Reaction score
45
Hi,

looking for someone to fix DM 500s around SE london / kent area.
i believe it needs to be jtagged?! and i'm not very handy with a soldering iron.

please pm if you can help

thx
 

brewby55

DW Regular
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
267
Reaction score
303
Have you tried using dream up software and a null modem serial cable from a pc to the box to bring it back to life?
I've done it a few times when an image upload over ethernet failed
 

dibbers

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 18, 2005
Messages
11,797
Reaction score
1,387
Location
Ipswhich
Contact bad_ad :proud:he's pretty good at it like....
 

ish_e

DW Member +
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
376
Reaction score
45
Have you tried using dream up software and a null modem serial cable from a pc to the box to bring it back to life?
I've done it a few times when an image upload over ethernet failed

yes mate, tried all that, no joy. box powers up showing green led on box but black screen on tv

Contact bad_ad :proud:he's pretty good at it like....

cheers mate, hopefully bad_ad will see this thread and is local to me :)
 

ish_e

DW Member +
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
376
Reaction score
45
just worked out that its the power supply (ac adapter) thats goosed, even though it lights up when plugged in.

anyone know where i can get an ac adapter cheap :)
 

lagigolo

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
114
Location
Upstairs at Erica's
You can use them multi voltage adapters, with all the different voltages and different end plugs. Maplins, Argos, Markets all sell them. Should be able to get one for about a fiver.
 

jedi_ringo

Member ++
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
345
Reaction score
4
just so happens I have a spare power adapter for 500 & 600 range
PM me for more info
 

ish_e

DW Member +
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
376
Reaction score
45
cheers everyone.

it so happens i had a power supply from linksys wag54g router lying around...
tried that and the box is working like a treat again :banana:
lets hope it doesn't blow up!

what a numpty i should have done this before assuming it needed jtagging lol
 
TEST
Top