WiFi extender/booster help needed

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,367
Reaction score
1,468
My son and his mates have just moved into a large 6 bed property. They've just had Virgin installed but the WiFi in his room (which is the furthest away) is poor, very hit n miss, as you come down the stairs its fine.
I know theres wifi boosters but do they actually work ?. Another thing, I have a pair of TP-LINK TL-PA4020P i dont use he could have with a plug through and 2 ethernet sockets.

Is there anything ad or plug into the ethernet socket on a homeplug to improve the wifi in his room?
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,499
Reaction score
1,545
My son and his mates have just moved into a large 6 bed property. They've just had Virgin installed but the WiFi in his room (which is the furthest away) is poor, very hit n miss, as you come down the stairs its fine.
I know theres wifi boosters but do they actually work ?. Another thing, I have a pair of TP-LINK TL-PA4020P i dont use he could have with a plug through and 2 ethernet sockets.

Is there anything ad or plug into the ethernet socket on a homeplug to improve the wifi in his room?
You could add a wireless access point to the homeplug
 

shabbaranks

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Messages
1,593
Reaction score
273
Location
Cornwall
One thing I'm currently looking at is to buy some areal extenders (if they have external aerials) and just move one of them to a more central point. This means you don't have to buy additional AP's
 

kegnkiwi

DW Regular +
Joined
Apr 23, 2010
Messages
1,241
Reaction score
496
We use some tp link homeplugs that also beam the wifi out of the plugs as well. This set cost me a load but its for our son who is a real gamer. We have a 200mb connection and in his room he has 3 x ethernet ports in the homeplug and also wifi. He never gets below 165mb in his room.
 

Kryton

<font color="PINK">I LOVE PINK</font>
VIP Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,499
Reaction score
1,545
Do they plug into the ethernet socket on the plug upstairs ?. The pa4020p had a plug socket on it
Yes you would just plug the WAP into the the homeplug in the troublesome bedroom via a LAN cable.
Then you can access the WAP by its web interface and set/change the SSID and wireless password.
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,367
Reaction score
1,468
I've looked at an extender TL-WA901ND and also the homeplug/wifi jobs WPA4220 were one homeplugs in the wall next to modem and the other plug is a wifi plug plugged into the electric socket in his room, which would you say is the best option ?
 

silverdale

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,367
Reaction score
1,468
Thanks for that but over the weekend I picked up a pair of Tp-Link wifi homeplugs 600mbps for £15 hopefully it will sort it
 
TEST
Top