What is cardsharing?

jonstarr

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
21
Reaction score
0
just join very informative clears things up:Cheers:

good write up thanks:Cheers:
 
Last edited by a moderator:

krishnadasbadya

Inactive User
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
91
Reaction score
0
Just discovered this part of the forum, only browsed the cable section before. I must admit this is amazing.

I get the principle idea behind cardsharing but have some queries if anyone doesn't mind helping.

I'm looking to set up a server so that I can card share with my sister who is addicted to Starplus.

I'm already subscribed to ***, I have cable broadband running off a wireless router. I think I know what software to use but..

Do I use my card in my original box? or do I use my card in say a dreambox? then connect to router?
 

Satguy Keano

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Just discovered this part of the forum, only browsed the cable section before. I must admit this is amazing.

I get the principle idea behind cardsharing but have some queries if anyone doesn't mind helping.

I'm looking to set up a server so that I can card share with my sister who is addicted to Starplus.

I'm already subscribed to ***, I have cable broadband running off a wireless router. I think I know what software to use but..

Do I use my card in my original box? or do I use my card in say a dreambox? then connect to router?

m8 your official card needs to be run under linux ( all though you can use windows with some newcs versions ). Once you get the idea it is dead easy.

Take your official card bang it in dreambox or other linux receiver do some work on the cfg's and then your sister gets a dreambox and connects to you via broadband.
So as long as bother of you have broadband and a linux receiver you are half way there.
I don't want to go in to major details in case of breaking forum rules but if you need more info drop me a pm.

Forgot to say it is not a good time to start c/s, we have recently lost sly italia and sly uk are sure to follow. We also have these new viaccess cards that stop c/s.
 
Last edited:

adam

Inactive User
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
678
Reaction score
13
Forgot to say it is not a good time to start c/s, we have recently lost sly italia and sly uk are sure to follow. We also have these new viaccess cards that stop c/s.
hi there, anymore info on this or things i should read as i was just looking into it myself. cheers
 

waqasahmed

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 4, 2009
Messages
140
Reaction score
3
Just wondering with DW, is it possible to know about in depth cardsharing or is that against the site rules?
 

Jimme

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
hypothetical question:

suppose someone did try to card-share in order to watch shy digital in their holiday home. they would need to have their sub-card in the server dreambox.

but wouldn't shy know that the card wasn't in their official box? my understanding is that shy digital boxes check-in using the attached phone line. if shy know your card is not in their box, they would surely be asking Q's.
 

waqasahmed

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 4, 2009
Messages
140
Reaction score
3
I think once a month, you insert your Sky card in your official receiver to let it call home
 

DEANOBOY

Member ++
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Messages
743
Reaction score
40
Excellent thread mate. Just about to get my 1st sat system and trying to learn as much as I can before i take the plunge. Threads like this are top banana.
 

tlogic

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
2,803
Reaction score
222
Location
underground
Excellent sticky on cs here :Clap:, iI have one question, would ppv function work if a client tries to order ppv view events and if so I presume the host will get billed is this correct?
 

SiKinn

Inactive User
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
714
Reaction score
25
Excellent sticky on cs here :Clap:, iI have one question, would ppv function work if a client tries to order ppv view events and if so I presume the host will get billed is this correct?
No it don't work like that the boxes are not equipped to order the events.

Si
 

tlogic

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
2,803
Reaction score
222
Location
underground
No it don't work like that the boxes are not equipped to order the events.

Si
Thanks for the reply m8, one other question I have is, as a client do I need a sky dish installed? sorry for the dumb question here guys, i'm at the learning stage with this at the moment. & lastly is reliable in terms of picture quality.
 
Last edited:

pinkhelmets

Inactive User
Joined
Aug 10, 2001
Messages
5,187
Reaction score
174
Location
essex colchester-ipswich
To receive satellite tv you do need a dish. So yes, to receive sky via satellite you will need a sky dish.
Cardsharing is not about streaming video over network. No video or mpeg stream is transmitted between receivers -client or server. So picture quality is not altered.
Hope that helps :)
 

tlogic

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
2,803
Reaction score
222
Location
underground
To receive satellite tv you do need a dish. So yes, to receive sky via satellite you will need a sky dish.
Cardsharing is not about streaming video over network. No video or mpeg stream is transmitted between receivers -client or server. So picture quality is not altered.
Hope that helps :)
thanks for that pinkhelmets, I thought if the db is connected to a router the dish isn't needed, not so easy as it sounds.:proud:
 

johnny bravo

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Messages
3,770
Reaction score
381
thanks "pinkhelmets"..what a great post...i though CS was simply passing a card around to one another....lol...hmm interesting topic...
 

tr1067

Inactive User
Joined
Nov 15, 2008
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
thanks a lot,this helps clear quite a few things,cheers
 

sempi

DW Member ++
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
2,356
Reaction score
96
Location
here, there and everywhere
i thought i had read that a pc needs to be running 24/7 (at the server end) is this true or does the sat box just need the internet connected all the time?
I have also been trying to read up on cas interfaces and diablo?? if it is a fixed dish on slyuk with a paid sub then is it only a box with a card slot that is needed? are the interface and cams only required on motorised dish to unscramble some european channels? or is a card still needed?

sorry but have always been cable and just got the sly 1/2 price for 12 months deal before christmas so now have installed.
 

PAUL7331

Inactive User
Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
908
Reaction score
13
Location
Nottingham
Guys, say for example if somebody had sly but was sharing this, would the guy who we was sharing it with be forced to watch the same channel has the guy with the sly card in his dreambox?? Or could the guy who was receiving the share watch a different channel?
 
TEST
Top