VM Superhub 3 VPN

rutters

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
1,151
Reaction score
15
Location
boro
Anyone know how to run a vpn on a Virgin Media Superhub 3 please?

Can't load one onto the Hub so first I tried an old SuperHub 2 from a different address but it's not connecting.

Then I put a Nordvpn trial app on my laptop but it's not connecting either.

Not sure what to do next?
 

gadgethome

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2005
Messages
1,297
Reaction score
326
I dont think it can be done from the hub. You would need to turn in to a modem only mode and then buy a wireless router which supports vpn or if you have a spare router, you may be able to load openwrt or something similar to it.
 

jfish

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
2,874
Reaction score
498
as stated above, get a router that supports DDWRT or Tomato and this has VPN built in - cheap as chips - can get a TPLInk WDR3600 for 30 quid (what I run)
 

rutters

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
1,151
Reaction score
15
Location
boro
Thanks guys..I do have a spare Netgear Nighthawk.

What's this 'Tomato' thing? Is that what has the built in VPN?

ta
 

fus10n

VIP Member
VIP Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
1,002
Reaction score
695
I have the nighthawk router and I can easily have openvpn. I've always thought that free vpn were kinda slow and not really worth it for streaming video etc?
 

rutters

DW Member ++
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
1,151
Reaction score
15
Location
boro
Did you have to flash it?
 
TEST
Top